Haifa Al Dosari

هيفاء الدوسري

صحافية

3 سعوديات يفوزن بتحدي "المدير التنفيذي" ويتفوقن على 3500 مشارك

تمكنت ثلاث سعوديات، من تحقيق إنجاز كبير ولافت، بعدما استطعت اقتناص المركز الأول في مسابقة "تحدي المدير التنفيذي" التي أقيمت في بنما مؤخرا بمشاركة 3500 مشارك ومشاركة من مختلف بلدان العالم.

واستطاعت السعوديات ملاك الموصلي، وروان بيك، ولينا حسين، اللاتي يدرسن الهندسة الصناعية بجامعة الملك عبدالعزيز، من حصد المرتبة الأولى بالمسابقة التي تقيمها شركة "P & G"، بعدما تفوقن على آلاف المشاركين يمثلون 40 دولة، حيث تفوقن على جميع المشاركين من بلدان الشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا، قبل أن يدخلن المرحلة العالمية للمشاركين من جميع أنحاء العالم.

سعودية وأفتخر

وعبرت السعوديات الثلاث عن سعادتهن بعدما تمكن من تغيير الصورة النمطية عن المملكة عموما، وعن المهندسات السعوديات على وجه الخصوص، مؤكدات أنهن أرسلن رسالة لجميع المشاركين في المسابقة، مفادها أن المرأة السعودية قادرة على فعل أي شيء، بل والتفوق فيه أيضا.

وقالت روان بيك، إنها تتطلع إلى اكتساب المزيد من الخبرات عن طريق العمل بالشركات متعددة الجنسيات، وعدت التطورات التي تشهدها السعودية حاليا، خاصة فيما يتعلق بالمرأة، مشجعة ومفحزة لزيادة القوى العاملة من النساء، تنفيذا لبنود رؤية المملكة 2030.

فيما بينت "لينا حسين" أن الصورة النمطية الشائعة عن الهندسة في العالم العربي، أن كل من يمتهنها يجب أن يكون من الرجال، إلا أن الأعوام القليلة الماضية ساعدت على تغيير هذه الصورة بعدما أثبتت النساء تفوقهم وقدرتهن على المشاركة وإنجاز أكبر المهمات في هذا المجال.

وأضافت "هناك بعض القوالب النمطية في ثقافتنا بأن المرأة لا تستطيع التعامل مع الوظيفة الصعبة للمهندس أو أنها هشة للغاية؛ لأنها ليست بيئة سهلة بحيث يكون متوسط ساعات العمل من 9 إلى 10 ساعات يومياً".

أما ملاك موصلي، فقد أكدت أن المسابقة وفرت لهن فرصة العمل في بيئة دولية، وتجربة تعليمية استطعن خلالها تمثيل المملكة وإظهرن للعالم أن هناك مهندسات سعوديات متميزات كما هو الحال في مختلف بلدان العالم المتقدم.

مليار دولار

وتقوم المسابقة على منح المشاركين فرصة لوضع استراتيجية عالية المستوى لعلامة تجارية تبلغ قيمتها مليار دولار، وإجراء دراسة متعمقة لاختبار مهاراتهم في التسويق، الإدارة العامة، الموارد البشرية، تطوير الاستراتيجيات وتحديد الميزانية، وتطلب منهم تقديم حلول لأعمال واقعية تجريها شركة "P & G" فعليا وتقديمها إلى المدير التنفيذي للشركة دايفيد تايلور.

وخلال المسابقة، تم التعامل مع كل فريق على أنه شركة مستقلة، حيث يكون مطلوب من كل منها اتخاذ 40 قرارا في كل مرحلة، وبناء عليها يتم إدخالها تلك القرارات إلى برنامج إلكتروني يحاكي الواقع يظهر النتائج.

وتشمل القرارات التي يجب على كل فريق "شركة" اتخاذها العديد من القرارات الدقيقة و‏المفصلة، كإعداد المنتجات المراد تصنيعها، وأسعار المنتجات، وكميات المواد الخام، و‏أعداد الموظفين، وساعات عمل الماكينات، والجودة، وكميات التخزين في المستودعات، والمبالغ المراد دفعها في التسويق وغيرها من القرارات التي من الممكن أن تغير من مجرى النتائج بشكل جذري، حيث يتم تحديد الفائز في النهاية بناء على أكبر "Price Share" استطاع تحقيقه في ظل المنافسة مع باقي الشركات الأخرى في السوق.

نجاح كبير

واشتملت المسابقة على ثلاث مراحل للفوز بها؛ حيث أقيمت المرحلة الأولى في السعودية بمشاركة الجامعات السعودية، فيما أقيمت المرحلة الثانية في الهند بمشاركة البلد المستضيف، وكل من البحرين ومصر والسعودية وجنوب إفريقيا، حيث تم اختيار الفائز في المرحلة الثانية من قبل لجنة الحكام، اعتمادًا على أفضل ‏خطة ‏استراتيجية تم وضعها؛ والتي كانت شاملة وتطرقت لجميع الأقسام وتحققت الهدف المطلوب، وكان هناك تقارب في النتائج بين المملكة ومصر، إلا أن الفوز كان من نصيب السعوديات الثلاث.

أما المرحلة الثالثة، فمثلت كندا (أمريكا الشمالية) والمكسيك (أمريكا الجنوبية)، وفرنسا (أوروبا) وتايلند (آسيا) والشرق الأوسط فمثلتها السعودية، وأُرسل لجميع الفرق كتيب قبل أسبوعين من موعد المسابقة في بنما، اشتمل على شرح لكيفية المرحلة الأخيرة -وهي الأصعب- وتتكون من خمس أجزاء، حيث يعتبر كل فريق شركة موجودة على الواقع وتنافس غيرها في السوق، و‏كل مرحلة لها وقت محدد ويتناقص ذلك الوقت تدريجيا في كل مرحلة إلى أن يصل إلى 45 دقيقة للمرحلة الواحدة.

وفي المراحل الأخيرة، اشتدت المنافسة بين السعودية وفرنسا؛ حيث إن نتائجهما ظلت متقاربة لعدة مراحل، إلا أن المهندسات السعوديات استطعن أن يحسمن التحدي لصالحهن في المرحلة الأخيرة، ليحتللن المرتبة الأولى باسم جامعة الملك عبدالعزيز.

التكنولوجيا والمستقبل

من جانبه، قال هاني إسماعيل، مدير شركة "P & G" في السعودية، إن التكنولوجيا باتت تدعم مستقبل المملكة حاليا بشكل غير مسبوق، وهو ما يساهم في تعزيز مشاركة الشباب في الدراسات المتعلقة بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات، مؤكدا أن مثل هذه المجالات هي مجالات ضرورية لتقدم أي بلد في العالم.

ولفت إلى أن شركة "P & G" تهتم بتطوير جيل جديد من قادة الأعمال في مختلف بلدان العالم ومنها السعودية، حيث توفر مسابقة "تحدي الرئيس التنفيذي" فرصة لاكتشاف المواهب في مجال الأعمال عبر إتاحة الفرصة للنماذج الشابة المتفوقة بخوض تجربة حقيقية في واحدة من أكبر الشركات.

وبين إسماعيل أن الشركة أرادت أن يكون لدها دور في التطور الكبير الذي تشهده السعودية حاليا، خاصة فيما يتعلق بالفتيات، معبرا عن فخره بأن تكون شركته جزءا من هذا التطور ومساهمة فيه.

إضافة تعليق جديد

Haifa Al Dosari

Haifa Al Dosari

Journalist

Saudi women win P&G’s CEO Challenge over 3,500 contenders

Competing against 3,500 participants from across the globe, an all-female team of Saudi students landed a major win at P&G’s (Procter & Gamble) CEO Challenge, walking away with the competition’s first prize in a remarkable performance.

Malak Mously, Rawan Baik and Linah Hussain,  who are currently pursuing their industrial engineering studies at the King Abdulaziz University, came in first place at the competition, beating contestants from 40 countries. They had competed against students from Middle East and Africa, before facing off in the final stages with their global contenders.

Saudi pride

For Mously, Baik and Hussain, the win made for a far bigger statement than their technical competence and capabilities; through their performance, the three students commented, they were able to change stereotypical perceptions of the Kingdom at large, and of female engineers in particular. Theirs was a message to the world that Saudi women were capable of anything, and of outdoing at it too.

Baik’s ambition is to continue to her skill set and professional development through multinational experiences. She is looking at the larger picture of Saudi’s transformative turn of events, particularly when it comes to women’s state of affairs and growing clout in the workforce under the National Vision 2030.

Hussain pointed to the Arab world’s common stereotype of the engineering field as one that is dominated by male manpower. While it may have been the case historically, the past few years have disputed these stereotypes as women in the region strongly broke into the field, Hussain said, and took part of mammoth projects and achievements in the sector.

“There are many stereotypes that are propagated in our culture around women not being able to cope with the intense pressures of the engineering field; chiefly because it is a rather tough environment with often, grueling working hours,” she added.

Mously added that the competition offered her and her peers the change to work in a collaborative international environment; a learning experience through which they were able to represent the Kingdom and demonstrate that the competitive capabilities of Saudi female engineers at par with and against standards of developed markets.

A billion-dollar idea

The competition makes for a rather tough and large assignment. Participants are offered the chance to put in place a high-level strategy for a billion-dollar brand; end-to-end in-depth market and business solutions for real-life case studies by P&G – from marketing, to administrative management, to human resources, to growth strategies, to budget allocations. In the final round, students presented their solutions to P&G CEO David Taylor in Panama.  

During the competitions, teams were treated each as a separate independent company, tasked with making 40 critical managerial and business decision at every stage. The decisions are then run against an electronic program that simulates real-life outcomes and repercussions on the business.

The decisions tested are extremely detailed and comprehensive, covering product design, pricing, procurement for raw materials, staffing, equipment management, quality assurance, storage strategies, and marketing budgets, among others; factors that, once manipulated, can radically make or break the business outcomes. Chief among which is the “price share”, against which competitors are assessed and the final winner was determined.

Big wins

The competition included three qualifying stages for the final win. The first round, held in Saudi Arabia, saw the participation of students across Saudi universities. The second stage was held in India, with the participation of the hosting country, as well as of Bahrain, Egypt, Saudi Arabia, and South Africa. Second-round winners were chosen before a jury based on the best strategy put in place for the case study proposed; the Kingdom and Egypt were close to a tie before the three Saudi students won the overall round.

The third round shortlisted countries from key participation region, namely  Canada (North America), Mexico (South America), France (Europe), Thailand (Asia). The Kingdom represented the Middle East region during this round, before qualifying for the final five-fold round; the latter, the toughest part of the challenge, puts contestants to the test with tight timelines and countdowns – with a duration of 45 minutes for each stage of the round.

In the last stages, Saudi Arabia and France competed head-to-head with very close results across stages. But it was the Saudi female engineers who landed the win in the final stage, coming in first place in the name of King Abdulaziz University.

Tech-powered future

Hani Ismail, P&G’s country manager for Saudi Arabia, said that the future of the country is being shaped by technology in unprecedented scale and magnitude, bolstering the participation of youth in STEM fields – ones that he believes are at the core for any developmental growth in the world. In this, P&G is committing to the development of the next generation of business leaders across the globe, Saudi Arabia included, Ismail added. One example has been the CEO challenge, which offered young business talents the chance to take part in multinational decision-making.

On a broader level, Ismail said that the conglomerate had big ambitions and is extremely proud to play a key role in the massive transformation the Kingdom is witnessing today, particularly on women’s rights and roles.

Add new comment