Latifa Al-Zahrani

لطيفة الزهراني

صحافية

3 قرارات هامة في اللحظات الأخيرة قبل بدء قيادة المرأة

قبيل أيام قليلة من التطبيق الفعلي لقرار السماح للمرأة السعودية بقيادة السيارة، شغلت ثلاث قضايا النساء السعوديات، ترتبط بذلك القرار الذي يتوقع أن يغير شكل المجتمع السعودي، حيث تساءلت السعوديات عن مدى إمكانية سفرهن إلى الدول المجاورة -مثل البحرين- بالسيارة، وإمكانية عملهن بالميكانيكا، بالإضافة إلى مدى قانونية دخول الفتيات مجال قيادة الحافلات المدرسية.

جسر الملك فهد

فقد زف السفير السعودي لدى البحرين، الدكتور عبدالله بن عبدالملك آل الشيخ، مجموعة من الأخبار السارة للسيدات في كل من البحرين والسعودية، بمناسبة اقتراب دخول قرار السماح للمرأة بالقيادة حيز التنفيذ، كاشفا عن جملة من الأمور التي تهم المرأة البحرينية في هذا الشأن.

وأوضح آل الشيخ في تصريحات صحفية، الاثنين (18 يونيو 2018)، أنه سيصبح بإمكان المرأة البحرينية قيادة السيارة والانتقال بها ما بين البحرين والسعودية عبر جسر الملك فهد بداية من العاشر من شوال الجاري، وهو نفس الموعد الذي سيسمح فيه للمرأة السعودية بقيادة السيارة.

وأضاف أن تنفيذ القرار سيجعل بإمكان أي امرأة، سواء سعودية أو بحرينية، قيادة السيارة والعبور بها عبر جسر الملك فهد الرابط بين المملكتين، مؤكدا أنه لن يكون أي قيود على المرأة البحرينية في قيادتها للسيارة بمفردها دون وجود "محرم" داخل السعودية.

وشرح السفير هذه النقطة بالتفصيل، موضحا أن قرار القيادة نص على المساواة التامة بين الرجل والمرأة في التعاطي مع قانون المرور، وبالتالي فإن مسألة خروج المرأة بمفردها وسفرها خارج السعودية هو أمر تحكمه أنظمة أخرى لا علاقة لها بقيادة المرأة للسيارة.

الرخص المعتمدة

وأنهى تصريحاته بالقول إنه مادامت قيادة المرأة لا تنتهك الشريعة الإسلامية وتعاليمها، ولا تتعدى على المرأة وعلى احترامها وحشمتها، فقد رأى الملك سلمان بن عبدالعزيز، كولي للأمر إحقاق هذا الحق للمرأة، وخاصة في هذه الفترة التي تشهد فيها السعودية نهضة شاملة في جميع مناحي الحياة.

وسبق للإدارة العامة للمرور، أن أعلنت عن بدء استبدالها الرخص الدولية المعتمدة في المملكة برخص سعودية استعدادا لموعد السماح للمرأة بالقيادة، حيث تم تسليم رخص قيادة سعودية لأول مجموعة من النساء الراغبات في القيادة داخل المملكة قبل أسابيع بعد إجراء اختبار عملي لهن.

وبينت الإدارة حينها أن ذلك تم بعد التأكد من صحة الرخصة المقدمة عبر بوابة "رخصة القيادة السعودية الإلكترونية" وتقييم مدى قدرة من يرغبن في استبدالها على القيادة.

وأشارت إلى أنه يمكن للزائرات للمملكة القيادة برخصة القيادة الدولية والأجنبية المعترف بها لسنة واحدة من تاريخ دخولها إلى المملكة أو انتهاء فترة صلاحيتها أيهما أقرب، وهو ما ينطبق أيضا على النساء البحرينيات.

حظر الميكانيكا

في غضون ذلك، كشف المتحدث باسم وزارة العمل والشؤون الاجتماعية، خالد أبا الخيل، أن "الميكانيكا" من المهن المحظورة على النساء في المملكة.

وأوضح في تصريحات لصحيفة "الوطن" السعودية، إنه من غير المسموح للمرأة السعودية بالعمل في مجال الميكانيكا طبقا للوائح الوزارة، تاركا الباب مفتوحا أمام احتمالية إلغاء هذا الحظر في المستقبل، بالتزامن مع السماح للمرأة بقيادة السيارة.

وسبق للمؤسسة العامة للتدريب التقني والمهني، أن قامت في شهر مارس الماضي بتدريب 117 متدربة سعودية على صيانة المركبات في دورة استغرقت 16 ساعة، بهدف تأهيلهن للحصول على شهادة تدريبية معتمدة ضمن برنامج "أتقن".

وخلال الدورة تعرفت المتدربات على الجوانب النظرية المتضمنة التعريف باللوحات الإرشادية والإرشادات المرورية ودلالاتها، إضافة إلى القيادة الدفاعية والتعامل مع الحالات الطارئة لأعطال المركبات أثناء القيادة، وتعرفن أيضا على مؤشرات الوقود والزيوت وتشخيص أعطال السيارات والتعامل مع الأعطال الروتينية وكيفية فحص وتغيير إطارات المركبات.

النقل المدرسي

من جانبها قالت صحيفة "سبق" السعودية، نقلا عن مصادر وصفتها بالمطلعة، عن أنه لا يوجد ما يمنع شركات النقل المدرسي من توظيف النساء كسائقات لنقل الطالبات إلى مدارسهن.

ونقلت عن المصادر قولها إن هيئة النقل العام ستعجل من إشراك المرأة في خدمات النقل المدرسي من خلال إصدار رخصة قيادة باسم "نقل مدرسي"، بحيث يجري فصلها عن رخصة النقل الثقيل كما هو معمول به حاليا.

وأضافت أن هذا المقترح تجري دراسته منذ أشهر وهو بصدد الإقرار، لافتة إلى أن تأخر صدور القرار لن يشكل عائقا أمام النساء الراغبات في العمل بالنقل المدرسي شريطة أن يحصلن على رخصة النقل الثقيل.

ويتوقع أن يسهم السماح للمرأة بقيادة حافلات النقل المدرسي الخاص بالطالبات في توفير آلاف الفرص الوظيفية للفتيات السعوديات، كما يسهم في استبدال العمالة الوافدة بأخرى وطنية مؤهلة ومدربة.

إضافة تعليق جديد

Latifa Al-Zahrani

Latifa Al-Zahrani

Journalist

Critical issues arise for Saudi women ahead of driving ban lift

Only a few days separate women in Saudi Arabia from the driver’s seat. The Kingdom is counting down to the lift of an enduring driving ban on women, and one of the most historic developments reshaping its sociocultural dynamics. Now, Saudi women are raising questions – and somewhat, concerns – around just how far and wide the ban lift’s practical and legislative extent will be; from their ability to road travel to neighboring countries like Bahrain, to job restrictions in the automotive, mechanics and transport sectors.

Building bridges

As the decree allowing women in the Kingdom to drive takes full effect on June 24, the Saudi ambassador to neighboring Bahrain, Dr. Abdullah bin Abdulmalik Al-Sheikh, has announced a cross-border agreement empowering both current Bahraini and future Saudi female drivers.

In a press statement on June 18, Al-Shaikh revealed Bahraini women will be able to travel by car and cross the border between Bahrain and Saudi Arabia via the connecting King Fahd bridge as of June 24 – the same date the driving ban lift decree comes into effect.

The decision will dually apply to both Saudi and Bahraini female drivers, Al-Shaikh clarified, noting that there will be no constraints on Bahraini women driving across the border and into the Kingdom without the company of a “mahram” (In Islam, non-marriageable men who typically accompany women during their travels).

To this point, the ambassador reiterated the leadership decree’s stipulation that men and women be treated equally before traffic codes and laws. However, Al-Shaikh stressed, Saudi women’s right to travel abroad and without the company of a mahram is governed by other regulations and systems that are not related to traffic law.

Licensing rules

So long as Saudi women’s driving setup complies with Sharia law and teachings, and with moral codes of public decency and respect, Al-Shaikh believed King Salman bin Abdulaziz acted as a guardian to Saudi women’s right to drive, particularly during a transformative period for the Kingdom in all its sociocultural facets.

The Saudi General Department of Traffic had already begun replacing international driving licenses held by Saudi women with national equivalent licenses a few weeks earlier; nine Saudi women who held foreign licenses recognized by Saudi traffic law obtained their first national licenses, after having undergone practical driving assessment and eligibility tests.

International driver’s licenses were submitted and authenticated via the Saudi driver’s license “electronic gate”, the traffic department affirmed at the time, after which holders were granted permission to convert and replace them with national licenses.

Moreover, female visitors to the kingdom who held international and foreign driving licenses recognized by Saudi traffic law can drive using these license for a year from their date of entry into the Kingdom, or from the license expiry date – whichever is nearest. Naturally, Bahraini women crossing the border into Saudi Arabia are governed by these same conditions.

Mechanical ban

Meanwhile, Khaled Abalkhail, spokesman for the Saudi Ministry of Labor and Social Development, said that the mechanics field remains restricted to women in the Kingdom.

Speaking to national newspaper Al Watan, Abalkhail revealed that in the books and as per the ministry’s laws and regulations, Saudi women are not allowed to enter the mechanics job market; restrictions that, nonetheless, can be revisited and removed in line with the decision allowing Saudi women to drive.

And there have been significant moves in this direction and in industries adjacent to the mechanical field. In March 2018, 117 Saudi female interns concluded a 16-hour vehicle maintenance, officially certified training workshop, under “Atqen” (which translates into “Excel”), a communal training group working in partnership with the Technical and Vocational Training Corporation, among other local private and public entities.

During the workshop, trainees were taken through lessons and sessions covering everything from basic traffic knowledge, to emergency and routine repairs, to vehicle diagnosis and testing.

School transport

Quoting sources with knowledge of the matter, local news outlet Sabq has reported that there are no regulations restricting Saudi women from working as drivers in the school transport field.

In fact, these sources added that the General Transport Authority will speed up women’s entry to this field with a specialized “school transport” driving license, separately from that issued to heavy vehicle drivers – currently, the latter serves dually as a license for school bus drivers.

It is an option that the authority has been assessing for a number of months, and that is in the approval stages. For now, the delays in passing this decision will not pose an obstacle to women who want to work in school transport, the authority affirmed,  granted that they obtain a heavy vehicle driving license in the interim.

On a macro level, Saudi women’s employment in the transport field will have nationwide economic implications, particularly in reducing the dependency on foreign workforce with a strong and qualified local talent pool.

Add new comment