Mashael Al Qahtani

مشاعل القحطاني

صحافية

أعضاء بالشورى يتساءلون: متى تشارك المرأة في الوظائف القضائية؟

أثار عدد من أعضاء مجلس الشورى قضية تولي المرأة للوظائف القضائية، بعدما تقدموا بتوصية جديدة تطالب بتمكين الكفاءات النسائية الحاصلة على التأهيل الشرعي والقانوني من تولي مثل هذه الوظائف.

ونقلت صحف سعودية عن مصادر من داخل المجلس، قولها إن مقدمي التوصية شددوا على امتلاك السعودية للكثير من الكفاءات النسائية في المجالات الشرعية والقانونية التي لديهن الجدارة الكاملة لتولي الوظائف القضائية، لافتين إلى أن الاستجابة لطلبهم، سيكون عاملا من عوامل حل مشكلة نقص عدد القضاة ووجود وظائف قضائية شاغرة بشكل مستمر.

وبين الأعضاء، أن المرأة تعمل بالوظائف القضائية في العديد من الدول العربية، مثل المغرب وتونس والجزائر والسودان منذ سنوات طويلة، وأثبتت تفوقا ومهارة كبيرة في هذا المجال، كما انضمت كل من الأردن ومصر والبحرين إلى الدول التي تسمح للمرأة بالعمل في الوظائف القضائية خلال السنوات الماضية، لافتين إلى أن المرأة السعودية قادرة مثل نظيراتها العربيات على خوض هذا المجال وإثبات جدارتها فيه.

حلم قريب

ويبدو أن توصية أعضاء المجلس غير بعيدة المنال، فقد أظهرت وزارة العدل خلال الفترة الماضية، انحيازا كبيرا للمرأة في العديد من المسائل القانونية، خاصة الأحوال الشخصية، واستطاعت قرارات الوزارة أن تعيد للمرأة العديد من الحقوق والحريات التي كفلها لها الإسلام والتي حجبت عنها في أوقات سابقة لظروف مختلفة، وذلك تنفيذا لبنود رؤية المملكة 2030 التي تنظر إلى المرأة على قدم المساواة الكاملة مع الرجل.

ومن أمثلة ذلك، إلغاء وزارة العدل ما يعرف بـ"بيت الطاعة" وإيقاف العمل بالأحكام الي تقضي بإجبار الزوجة على العودة إلى بيت زوجها دون رغبتها، كما أقرت الوزارة هي والمجلس الأعلى للقضاء، مجموعة من الإجراءات والمبادئ القضائية الداعمة للمرأة الزوجة والأم الحاضنة، بهدف حماية الأسرة من التشتت بعد الانفصال.

كما حرصت على تسهيل إجراءات حصول المرأة المستحقة على صك الإعالة تمهيدا للتقدم بطلب منح سكنية، إلى جانب نزع الولاية عن ولي المرأة المعنفة وتوكيل مهام ولايتها للقاضي، والتنسيق لإيقاف الأشخاص الذين يعتدون على المرأة من دون انتظار الحكم القضائي.

وكان من نتيجة ذلك، أن أصبحت معاملات المرأة ناجزة وميسرة في الكثير من الشؤون التي كانت رهن التعقيد لفترة ليست بالقصيرة، حيث كانت تتعرض للكثير من العراقيل التي تؤخر حصولها على حقوقها، بينما الآن أصبح من الممكن حل هذه الأمور في فترات قصيرة للغاية، وربما استطاعت إنجاز بعضها بشكل إلكتروني دون الاضطرار للذهاب إلى المحاكم.

ملازمة تحقيق

أما على مستوى الوظائف، فقد استهلت وزارة العدل عام 2018، بتمكين المرأة من التوظيف في الوزارة عبر أربعة مسميات وظيفية، شملت "البحث الاجتماعي"، "البحث الشرعي"، "البحث القانوني"، "المساعدة في العمل الإداري"، وعلى الفور اعتمدت قرار توظيف الدفعة الأولى للسيدات الراغبات بالعمل ضمن كوادرها بعدد 300 سيدة.

وبعدها بعدة أسابيع، فاجأت الوزارة متابعيها بإعلانها لأول مرة في تاريخها، عن توفر وظائف نسائية بمرتبة "ملازم تحقيق" ووضعت عدة شروط للراغبات في التقدم للوظيفة، وتلك الوظيفة تعد أولى مراتب أعضاء هيئة التحقيق والادعاء في السعودية، حيث ينتقل بعضها عضو هيئة التحقيق للعمل بالسلك القضائي.

وتتضمن مهام وظيفة "ملازم التحقيق" إجراء التحقيقات تحت إشراف من هم أعلى منه في الرتبة، وإقامة الدعوى العامة والتفتيش على دور الحجز والإشراف على تنفيذ الأحكام، وكلها مهام ذات خطورة وأهمية كبيرة، ما يكشف الثقة العالية التي باتت تتمتع بها المرأة داخل وزارة العدل.

وبينت الوزارة تعليقا على هذا القرار، أن استحداث هذه الوظائف يأتي في ضوء تعديل نظام النيابة العامة، والتي أبدى إيمانا كاملا بكفاءة المرأة وقدرتها على القيام بالتحقيق والادعاء، حيث سيشمل عمل المرأة في النيابة العامة كافة الوظائف المساندة للمُحققات، حتى يكون هناك أقسام نسائية مستقلة، وهو ما من شأنه أن يسهل المعاملات الخاصة بالمرأة، حيث ترفض أحيانا النساء اللاتي يُحقق معهن في النيابة العامة التعاون مع المحققين الذكور.

وأتبع ذلك توجيه وزير العدل بتمكين المرأة من الحصول على "رخصة التوثيق" والتي تتيح القيام ببعض مهام كتابات العدل، حيث يتاح للحاصلين على تلك الرخص إصدار الوكالات وتوثيق عقود الشركات وفسخها عبر مكاتب تابعة للقطاع الخاص وفق عملية إلكترونية متكاملة.

244 محامية

أما أصحاب "الروب الأسود" الذين يمثلون النصف الآخر من ميزان العدالة، فقد تمكنت المرأة من رفع مشاركتها في مجال المحاماة بشكل ملحوظ خلال الشهور القليلة الماضية، بعدما أعلنت وزارة العدل إصدارها 59 رخصة لمزاولة مهنة المحاماة للنساء السعوديات خلال عام 2018.

وبناء على هذا الإعلان، ارتفع عدد المحاميات في السعودية إلى 244 محامية حتى الآن، وهو ما يكشف القفزة الكبيرة في أعدادهن قياسا على الفترات الماضية، ويبشر بارتفاع أكبر في تلك الأعداد خلال الشهور القادمة.

وقالت وزارة العدل في إحصائها السنوي، أن نسبة الزيادة في عدد الرخص الممنوحة للمحاميات خلال العام الماضي بلغت 113% عن العام الذي سبقه، إذ منحت تراخيص المحاماة لـ83 محامية وهو العدد الأكبر مقارنة بالأعوام السابقة.

وكشفت الوزارة تزايد إقبال خريجات التخصصات الشرعية والقانونية في الجامعات السعودية على مزاولة مهنة المحاماة بشكل ملموس، طبقا لارتفاع أعداد الطلبات التي باتت تتسلمها لإصدار تراخيص مزاولة المهنة.

سعوديات في هذا المقال

الدكتورة لطيفة الشعلان هي أكاديمية وكاتبة سعودية وعضو بمجلس الشورى السعودي منذ العام 2013.

إضافة تعليق جديد

Mashael Al Qahtani

Mashael Al Qahtani

Journalist

Saudi Shura members push on women’s inclusion in the judicial field

In a new recommendation calling for women’s inclusion in the judicial field, a number of Saudi Shura Council members (the Shura council is the general consultative assembly of Saudi Arabia) are rallying for the employment of specialized and qualified female cadres across legislative ranks.

Quoting sources from within the council, a number of Saudi newspapers reported that, members who submitted the recommendation stressed on the Kingdom’s buildup of qualified female capital across legal and judicial fields; a move that they believed would tackle these fields’ enduring talent gap – particularly, undersupply across judge ranks –  in Saudi Arabia.

The recommendation also highlighted women’s longstanding involvement, sizeable workforce contribution, and outperformance across the years in the legal field in other Arab markets, including Morocco, Tunisia, Algeria and Sudan. Jordan, Egypt and Bahrain joined these markets in recent years, opening up the legal field to female cadres. Saudi women should be no exception, the recommendation noted, and are just as capable and qualified as their Arab counterparts to enter and excel in this space.

Close enough

Women’s inclusion in the Saudi legislative field is neither a farfetched nor distant objective. Rather, it comes at an opportune time as the Saudi National Vision 2030 focally pushes on women’s empowerment.

Recently, the Saudi Ministry of Justice made steadfast progress in favor of women, particularly on personal rights and affairs, in a number of decisions and amendments. The latter reinstated many of Saudi women’s Islam-given rights and freedoms, and ones they had been deprived of for years due to a number of reasons and circumstances.

One example has been the ministry’s annulment of what was known as “Bayt Al Ta’a” , a legal principle stipulating that wives return home to their spouse in the event that they decide to leave. Another step forward included the ministry’s and the Supreme Judicial Council of Saudi Arabia’s spate of processes and principles supporting wives and foster mothers, and protecting family units in cases of separation.

It also facilitated paperwork for women for housing allowances, and removed guardianship mandates off women who are domestically abused – in addition to assigning lawyers to such abuse cases, and provisioning the arrest of abusers before their sentence verdict is out.

As a result, processes and paperwork, particularly for personal affairs, were streamlined and facilitated for women across the board – and many, through electronic channels.

Open door policy

In 2018, the Ministry of Justice opened doors for female cadres across four disciplines: social research, forensic research, legal research and assistance in administrative work. Its first hire immediately counted 300 female employees.

A few weeks later, the ministry made another surprising announcement; for the first time in its history, it opened “investigation lieutenant” vacancies for Saudi women, putting in place stringent qualifications and criteria for applicants.

The role is a critical entry point for anyone wishing to pursue a career at the Saudi Investigation Commission and General Prosecution. It is also a stepping stone for crossing over to more specialized judicial work.

Investigation lieutenants’ work typically involve investigations under the supervision of higher-ranked officers, detention center inspections, general prosecution hearings, sentence oversight; a scope of paramount importance and exposure, reflecting the Ministry of Justice’s high level of trust placed in Saudi female cadres.

Commenting on its decision at the time, the ministry said that it came in light of a large-scale overhaul of Saudi’s General Prosecution system, which had both witnessed and invested in women’s investigation and prosecution capabilities.

Women employed by the general prosecutor’s office will be supporting investigators across all functions, and help with the build and design of a female-only setup for investigative units – in turn, alleviating tensions for female suspects who were reluctant to cooperate with male investigators.

The Minister of Justice followed this announcement with a directive allowing women to obtain a "documentation license” and, whereby holders of these licenses can take on notary duties – including power of attorney, contract documentation and dissolution through private sector-affiliated offices and integrated electronic processes.

Lawyering up

Saudi Arabia’s legal system also saw women’s more prominent presence and workforce contribution in the last few months; in April, Saudi Arabia's Ministry of Justice issued 59 law practice licenses for Saudi women for 2018 – alone, this number accounted for more than a quarter of the total licenses granted for female lawyers over the few earlier years.

That same month, in its annual census, the Ministry of Justice reported an increase of 113% in the number of licenses granted to women lawyers in the past year compared with the previous year; a total of 83 licenses were granted to female lawyers, the largest in comparison with the years before it.

Moreover, the ministry has revealed that the number of female graduates specializing in legal fields across Saudi universities has witnessed a significant growth, in line with the number of license applications it has been receiving from female students.

This, in addition to broadening scopes and jobs for Saudi women across General Prosecution and military ranks, including border guard, customs, prison and traffic roles and jobs.

Women in this article

Dr. Latifa Al-Shaalan is a Saudi university professor, writer, and member of the Saudi Shura Council since 2013.

Add new comment