Hasnaa Ali

حسناء علي

صحافية

الرماح والميمان.. سعوديتان تفوزان بمنصبين دوليين في يوم واحد

في مكسب جديد للمرأة السعودية، استطاعت مشرحتان للسعودية الفوز بمنصبين هامين في منظمات دولية، هما تماضر الرماح نائب وزير العمل والتنمية الاجتماعية، وبسمة بنت عبدالعزيز الميمان المسؤولة بالهيئة العامة للسياحة.

فقد تم انتخاب الرماح من قبل الدول الأطراف في اتفاقية "القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة سيداو" لعضوية اللجنة المعنية بالقضاء على التمييز ضد المرأة، وذلك خلال اجتماعها بمقر الأمم المتحدة في نيويورك الخميس (7 يونيو 2018).
فيما أصدرت منظمة الأمم المتحدة للسياحة العالمية قرارا باختيار الميمان مديرا إقليميا للشرق الأوسط بالمنظمة، لتكون أول مسؤول سعودي وخليجي يتولى منصب رفيع بالمنظمة.

أول نائبة وزير

وعبرت الرماح عن فخرها بهذا الاختيار عبر حسابها الشخصي على موقع التواصل الاجتماعي "تويتر"، وكتبت قائلة إنها سعيدة بحصولها على عضوية "سيداو"، وأضافت "شكرا لوطني الداعم وشكرا لجهود الوفد السعودي الدائم في نيويورك خلال العامين السابقين، مبروك لمملكتنا الغالية وإلى المزيد من الإنجازات بإذن الله".

وعادت تماضر الرماح لتتصدر أخبارها وسائل الإعلام بعد أشهر قليلة على توليها منصب نائب وزير العمل، لتصبح بذلك أول امرأة تشغل منصب نائب وزير في السعودية، وهو المنصب الأرفع الذي تحتله سيدة في المملكة حتى الآن.

وجاء أمر تعيين تماضر حينها ضمن مجموعة من الأوامر الملكية صدرت في 26 فبراير 2018، وهي الأوامر الي اعتبرها الكثيرون بمثابة خطوة لتصعيد الشباب إلى مناصب قيادية في العديد من المجالات، على رأسها الاقتصادية والأمنية.

وعقب هذا التعيين، اعتبر مراقبون أن وصول المرأة السعودية إلى منصب وزيرة بات وشيكا، في ظل القرارات المتلاحقة التي اتخذتها القيادة السياسية والتي منحت المرأة من خلالها العديد من الحقوق التي طالما نادت بها لسنوات، كحق قيادة السيارة ودخول الملاعب الرياضية وتوسيع مشاركاتها في الفعاليات الفنية والرياضية وتقديم الخدمات الحكومية لها دون موافقة ولي الأمر.

ولا تعد الرماح بعيدة عن العمل الدولي حيث سبق لها أن تحدثت في الدورة الـ56 للجنة التنمية الاجتماعية بالأمم المتحدة عن (رؤية المملكة 2030) والتي ترتكز على ثلاثة محاور رئيسة هي مجتمع حيوي، واقتصاد مزدهر، ووطن طموح.

وكشفت خلال كلمتها أن برنامج التحول الوطني 2020 هدف لزيادة المشاركة والتمكين الاقتصادي لأفراد المجتمع وزيادة مشاركة المرأة في سوق العمل وتمكين اندماج الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة وزيادة مساهمة الأسر المنتجة في الاقتصاد.

منافسة دولية

أما بسمة بنت عبدالعزيز الميمان فقد جاء اختيارها بعد منافسة دولية شارك فيها مسؤولون من مختلف دول العالم.

وجاء ترشيح الميمان من قبل الهيئة العامة للسياحة والتراث مع التنسيق مع وزارة الخارجية، نظرا لخبرتها التي تقارب الـ16 عاما، والتي قضتها في المنظمات والعلاقات الدولية، إضافة إلى حصولها على العديد من الدورات المتخصصة في هذا المجال، وتمثيلها للمملكة عن إقليم الشرق الأوسط في مجلس إدارة المؤسسة الدولية للسياحة المستدامة والحد من الفقر، بالإضافة إلى مشاركتها في العديد من المؤتمرات الإقليمية والدولية.

وقالتت هيئة السياحة والتراث أن ترشيح الميمان لتمثيل المملكة جاء في إطار منهجية الهيئة بأن تكون الكفاءة العملية هي المعيار الأساس للترشيح في المناصب الدولية.

وتعد المملكة عضو مؤسس لمنظمة السياحة العالمية منذ انضمامها عام 2003، حيث أسهمت السعودية في صدور العديد من القرارات الهامة للمنظمة، كما حظيت المنظمة بدعم مباشر من القيادة السعودية، حتى قررت المنظمة تكريم الأمير سلطان بن سلمان رئيس الهيئة العامة للسياحة والتراث الوطني في سبتمبر الماضي، تتقديرا لدوره في دعم وتنمية الحركة السياحية محليا وإقليميا ودوليا.

التمييز ضد المرأة

واتفاقية "سيداو" هي معاهدة دولية تم اعتمادها من قبل اللجنة العامة للأمم المتحدة عام 1979، ثم تم التصديق عليها في سبتمبر عام 1981 ووقع عليها أكثرت من 189 دولة، وتصنف على أنها وثيقة الحقوق الدولية للنساء.

وتهدف الاتفاقية إلى القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة، كما تحارب الإتجار بالجنس، وتدافع عن حقوق المرأة في المجتمع عموما بالإضافة إلى التركيز على حقها في ممارسة حياة سياسية دون قيود، وكذلك حقها في الحصول على المساواة في الزواج والحياة الأسرية والمساواة أمام القضاء.

وبناء على هذه الاتفاقية، تم إنشاء "لجنة" معنية بالقضاء على التمييز ضد المرأة بالأمم المتحدة، وهي اللجنة التي فازت تماضر الرماح مرشحة السعودية بعضويتها، وتكون مهمة هذه اللجنة متابعة تقارير الدول الموقعين على الاتفاقية ومدى التزامه بتنفيذ البنود والقضاء على أشكال التمييز.

وتصدر اللجنة كل عام تقريرها السنوي الذي تقدمه إلى الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة، كما تقدم اللجنة نصائح إلى الدول التي قدمت تقاريرها، كما لديها القدرة على تقديم توصيات عامة توضح نظرتها للالتزامات المفروضة بموجب مواد الاتفاقية، ولها حق طرح أي تعديلات تراها مناسبة ومفيدة لإنفاذ مواد الاتفاقية بشكل فعال.

نظرة السعودية للمرأة

وباتت نظرة السعودية للمرأة في السعودية الأخيرة تحظى بتقدير من العديد من الجهات الدولية، في ظل الإصلاحات التي اتخذتها القيادة لمنح المرأة المزيد من الحقوق ومساعدتها على الاندماج في مختلف مجالات العمل والتعامل معها على قدم المساواة مع الرجل.

ونتيجة لهذا التقدير، تمكنت السعودية من الفوز بعضوية المجلس التنفيذي لهيئة الأمم المتحدة للمرأة في أبريل الماضي للمرة الثالثة في تاريخها، وجاء فوزها خلال عملية تصويت تمت ضمن اجتماعات المجلس الاقتصادي والاجتماعي للمنظمة العالمية في نيويورك، وهو ما اعتبر اعترافا من الهيئة بالتقدم الذي أحرزته السعودية في ملف المرأة والمساواة بين الجنسين.

وسبق أن أصدر المجلس التنفيذي للمرأة بيانا في سبتمبر 2017، أعرب فيه عن ترحيبه بقرار السماح للمرأة بقيادة السيارة في السعودية، مؤكدا أنها خطوة على طريق تحقيق المساواة الكاملة والحقيقية للنساء والفتيات في المملكة، معتبرا أن اللحظة التي باتت فيها المرأة السعودية قادرة على تقديم طلب والحصول على رخصة قيادة بمثابة علامة فارقة طال انتظارها في المملكة، ويحقق لها مساواة فعلية مع الذكور.

سعوديات في هذا المقال

تماضر بنت يوسف الرماح هي نائب وزير العمل والشؤون الاجتماعية بالسعودية، سبق لها أن تولت منصب وكيلة وزارة العمل للتوطين الموجه ومشرفا عاما على الرعاية الاجتماعية والأسرة.

مسؤولة بهيئة السياحة السعودية فازت مؤخرا بمنصب المدير الإقليمي للشرق الأوسط بمنظمة الأمم المتحدة للسياحة العالمية

إضافة تعليق جديد

Hasnaa Ali

Hasnaa Ali

Journalist

International leadership appointments mark dual win for Saudi women

While a spate of top-down decisions have been driving the Kingdom’s agenda for women empowerment, Saudi women in power themselves are pushing this agenda to greater ambitions and impact. In a dual and significant win, Saudi Tamader Al Rammah and Basmah bint Abdulaziz Al-Mayman have landed high-level international roles.

Al Rammah, an accomplished businesswoman and currently, the Saudi deputy minister of Labor and Social development, was elected to the board of the United Nations’ CEDWA’s specialized committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women. Al Rammah’s election to the board took place during the committee’s meeting at the UN’s New York headquarters.

Meanwhile, Basmah bint Abdulaziz Al-Mayman, chairwoman at Global United Centre for Research and Analysis and director at the Saudi Commission for Tourism and National Heritage (SCTH), will also take on a leadership role at the UNWTO (United Nations World Tourism Organization). Al-Mayman was appointed as UNWTO’s regional director for the Middle East, the first Saudi and GCC official to take on this high-level role at the organization.

First movers

On her twitter account, Al Rammah expressed her pride with her new CEDAW role and remit, writing: “I’d like to thank my supportive nation and the Saudi UN delegation in New York for their continuous efforts in the last two years. Congratulations to our precious Kingdom, and to our future achievements”.

Al Rammah’s election is making headlines only a few months after her landmark appointment as the Saudi deputy minister of Labor and Social Development – the first deputy ministerial appointment for and the highest position reached by Saudi women in the Kingdom to date.

At the time, Al Rammah’s appointment came under a slew of royal orders issued on February 26, 2018, considered by many as a move to elevate Saudi youth to leadership positions across sectors, most notably, in economic and security fields.

Many also considered Al Rammah’s appointment to be a step closer to Saudi women taking on the “minister” role, in light of successive decisions taken by the Kingdom’s political leadership to reinstate their rights – chief among which, the right to drive, to access sports stadiums, to broaden their participation in artistic and sports events, and to process governmental paperwork sans guardian consent.

Al Rammah is no stranger to international organizations and developmental work. She spoke at the 56th convention for the UN’s Committee on Social Development, showcasing the Saudi National Vision 2030’s key pillars: a vibrant society, a thriving economy, and an ambitious nation.

During her talk, Al Rammah said that the Saudi National Transformation Program 2020 was designed to raise the participation and economic empowerment of Saudi society members, particularly of women, in the country’s workforce. Equally, she added, it worked toward the inclusion of people with disabilities, and the wider contribution of Saudi families in the local economy.

International competition

Al-Mayman’s UNWTO appointment was the result of an international competition by the organization, which saw the participation of high-level officials from across the world.

Al-Mayman’s nomination was a joint decision by the Saudi Commission for Tourism and National Heritage, in coordination with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, in recognition of her 16-year experience in international organizations and affairs – including a number of trainings and courses. She had also represented the Kingdom for the Middle East region at the UNWTO’s ST-EP (Sustainable Tourism – Eliminating Poverty Initiative), and had partaken in a number of regional and international conventions.

The decision to recommend Al-Mayman to represent the Kingdom, the SCTH said, is a statement to and proof of its belief in competence as the baseline behind international nominations and qualifications. The Kingdom has been a member of the UN’s World Tourism Organization since 2003, and an active contributor to a number of critical decisions by the organization. Saudi leadership also directly endorsed the organization. In recognition of this support, the organization honored Prince Sultan bin Salman, president of the SCTH, for his role in the development of domestic, regional and international tourism in September.

Eradicating discrimination

CEDAW, which stands for the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms Of Discrimination against Women, is a treaty adopted by the United Nations General Assembly in 1979, and ratified in September 1981. It was signed by over 189 nations, making it the largest official reference and documentation on international women’s rights.

The treaty was designed around the elimination of all forms of discrimination against women – including the fight against sex trafficking – and around the protection of their social rights, political participation, and equality in marriage, in family life, and in law. Based on this treaty, a UN committee was set up with the same goal, particularly with the remit of closely monitoring reports by signing nations and members, and their compliance with the treaty’s stipulations and charter. Al Rammah is now a member of this committee.

The committee also submits a yearly report before the United Nations general assembly, and presents member nations with general recommendations pertaining to their compliance with the CEDAW treaty. To this end, it also holds the right to suggest amendments it sees fit and necessary to enforce this compliance.

Shifting perceptions

In recent months, Saudi Arabia’s reformative push and changing perceptions on women’s rights and state of affairs were lauded by a number of international authorities and stakeholders, particularly for their impact on women’s inclusion in the workforce and a gender-neutral economy for the Kingdom.

In April, Saudi Arabia was elected as a member to the executive council of the UN Commission on the Status of Women for the 2019-2021 term, and this, for the third time in its history; the Kingdom had been previously elected to the same role and membership for the first time in the 2011-2013 term, and for the second time in the 2014-2016 term.

Saudi Arabia’s membership election was the result of a voting process that took place during the UN Social and Economic Council meetings in New York on April 17 – and equally, a due recognition by the organization of the Kingdom’s progress on gender equality. The UN Commission on the Status of Women had previously issued a statement in September 2017 welcoming Saudi Arabia’s decision to allow women to drive, affirming that it was a step closer to and a milestone for real gender equality in the Kingdom.

Women in this article

Tumder bint Yousef Al-Rumah is the Deputy Minister of Labor and Social Affairs in Saudi Arabia.

Official at the Saudi Commission for Tourism and National Heritage, recently appointed as the Middle East Director for the UNWTO

Add new comment