Latifa Al-Zahrani

لطيفة الزهراني

صحافية

الإعلاميات السعوديات.. مسيرة نجاح تخطت كل العقبات

كان للدور البارز الذي لعبته الإعلاميات السعوديات في الإعلام المرئي، على مدار سنوات طوال، في طرح قضايا المرأة السعودية ومناقشتها، وإلقاء الضوء على النماذج النسائية المشرفة في مختلف المجالات، مردود قوي استطاع تحريك المياه الراكدة، ليشاهدن في النهاية استجابة القيادة السعودية لحقوق المرأة، بشكل غير وجه المجتمع السعودي.

وكان من اللافت تحقيق الإعلاميات لهذا الدور، بالرغم من قصر فترة تواجدهن في مجال الإعلام المرئي السعودي قياسا على الرجل.

ومنعت الإعلاميات السعوديات من الظهور في التليفزيون السعودي تماما بعد عام 1979، وأثارت عودتهن في السنوات القليلة الماضية كثير من الجدل وقتها واعتراضات من رواد التيار المحافظ.

ويتوقع أن تتسع دائرة تواجد الإعلاميات بالتلفزيون الرسمي مع التغيرات الاجتماعية التي تشهدها المملكة، واتساع سقف الحرية الممنوح لهن.

رائدات التلفزيون

وساهمت الجهود التي بذلتها الرائدات في مجال الإعلام المعاصر فيما وصل إليه حال إعلاميات اليوم، وتعد الإعلامية دنيا بكر يونس من أوائل المذيعات اللاتي ظهرن في التليفزيون السعودي، إذ يمتد مشوارها لأكثر من 30 عاما، قدمت خلالهما العديد من البرامج لاسيما برامج الأطفال التي جعلتها تشتهر باسم "ماما دنيا".

كما كانت أول مذيعة سعودية تقدم برامج المنوعات ومنها برنامج "استديو رقم 5" و"شاطىء نصف القمر" وبرنامج "عاداتنا" الرمضاني وغيرها، وتقديرا لدورها كرمتها وزارة الثقافة والإعلام ومنحتها شهادة تقدير عام 1991.

فيما تعد الإعلامية منى أبو سليمان أول مذيعة سعودية تظهر على الفضائيات العربية من خلال شاشة MBC، كمقدمة لبرنامج "كلام نواعم" عام 2002، ولا تزال تشارك في تقديمه حتى الآن، إذ تعد إحدى مؤسسات البرنامج النسائي الاجتماعي الشهير، وتناقش من خلاله القضايا التي تمس الأسرة والمجتمع العربي.

دور مميز

وكان لمركز "المرأة السعودية" الإعلامي، دورا في تعزيز المشاركة النسائية في مجال الإعلام من خلال التدريب والدعم وإعداد الدراسات، وهو المركز الذي أسسته الإعلامية ناهد باشطح عام 2003، الفائزة بجائزة المرأة العربية المتميزة في حقل الصحافة والإعلام من مركز دراسات مشاركة المرأة العربية في باريس عام 2007.

وأطلق المركز في عام 2006 المنتدى الأول للإعلاميات في مدينة الرياض تحت شعار "المرأة والإعلام.. منهجية التطوير بنجاح" تحت رعاية الأميرة عادلة بنت عبد الله، لمناقشة التحديات التي تواجه عمل المرأة في مجال الإعلام وكيفية تخطيها، وخرج المنتدى بعدة توصيات من بينها الاهتمام بتدريب وتأهيل الإعلاميات ليتسنى لهن المشاركة الفعالة في مسيرة الإعلام المعاصر، وإتاحة المزيد من الفرص لهن بما يعزز من أدوارهن، وتعيين الإعلاميات بما يوفر لهن الأمان الوظيفي، وحث المؤسسات على عدم التمييز بين الإعلامي والإعلامية، ودعوة رجال الدين لتوعية المجتمع بأهمية دور الإعلامية.

نماذج لافتة

ونتيجة لتلك الجهود وغيرها حصلت الإعلاميات السعوديات على المكانة التي تستحقها، وتلمع أسماء كثير من الإعلاميات في الوقت الراهن، ومن أكثرهن تميزا وجماهيرية الإعلامية لجين عمران، مقدمة برنامج "صباح الخير يا عرب"، والتي يتابع حسابها على موقع تويتر أكثر من مليون شخص.

وقدمت لوجين خلال مسيرتها عدة برامج بداية من "الحال مع لجين" عام 2004 على تليفزيون البحرين مرورا ببرنامج "يا هلا" على قناة روتانا خليجية وبرامج "حول الخليج" و"عالم حواء" حتى كانت النقلة النوعية في حياتها المهنية بانتقالها لبرنامج "صباح الخير ياعرب" على قناة MBC1 والذي ينقل أهم ما يجري من أحداث حول العالم إضافة إلى مناقشة اهتمامات الناس الصحية والاجتماعية والأسرية، ويعرض أحدث صيحات الموضة وأبرز أخبار الفن.

كما تحظى الإعلامية سارة الدندراوي، مقدمة برنامج "تفاعلكم" بشعبية مماثلة تتجاوز المليون متابع عبر حسابها على تويتر، حيث بدأت عملها الإعلامي بتقديم برنامج "دليل العافية" على قناة العربية وهو برنامج يهتم بالصحة وكانت عضوا بلجنة تحكيم برنامج "مسابقة الجماهير" كما قدمت برنامج "صباح العربية".

وتستعرض في برنامجها الحالي "تفاعلكم" أبرز الأحداث والمستجدات من مواضيع تفاعل معها الناس أو أثارت الجدل سواء كانت تلك الأحداث سياسية أو اجتماعية أو رياضية أو فنية.

مناصب قيادية

وفي ظل هذه التطورات، استطاعت المرأة السعودية الوصول إلى مناصب قيادية مرموقة في المجال الإعلامي، حيث تتولى الإعلامية أحلام الفقيهي منصب مديرة إدارة الأسرة والأطفال في القناة الأولى بالتليفزيون السعودي.

فيما وصلت الإعلامية سناء مؤمنة لإدارة قناة أجيال الفضائية عام 2011 لتكون أول مديرة سعودية لقناة فضائية، واختيرت لهذا المنصب لخبرتها الطويلة في إدارة برامج الأطفال التي تزيد على 17 عاما.

وتشغل الإعلامية مها عقيل منصب مديرة إدارة الإعلام في منظمة التعاون الإسلامي، في الأمانة العامة للمنظمة بمدينة جدة.

سعوديات في هذا المقال

ناهد سعيد محمد باشطح كاتبة سعودية حاصلة على درجة الدكتوراه في الإعلام الثقافي من جامعة سالفورد في بريطانيا.

إعلامية وصحفية سعودية من مواليد العاصمة الرياض تقدم برنامج "تفاعلكم"

إعلامية سعودية تقدم برنامج "صباح الخير يا عرب" ومن أوائل السعوديات اللاتي عملن في الفضائيات العربية

من أوائل الإعلاميات السعوديات اللاتي ظهرن بالفضائيات، اختيرت سفيرة للنوايا الحسنة بالأمم المتحدة

إضافة تعليق جديد

Latifa Al-Zahrani

Latifa Al-Zahrani

Journalist

Saudi Women in Media: Overcoming Obstacles

Saudi women have played a significant role in contemporary media, especially in the visual media, for many years. Discussing women's issues and shedding light on honorable women role models in numerous fields has contributed greatly to the current Saudi leadership's unprecedented support of expanding and restoring women's rights.

Saudi women in media have made remarkable progress, despite the fact that their presence in media is substantially less than men.  Women have been totally banned from appearing on Saudi television since 1979. The recent return of women to Saudi television has provoked much controversy and opposition from conservative leaders.

Regardless, Saudi Arabia’s current leadership has moved to support and restore women's rights and to openly demonstrate the appreciation for the vital role of women in society. Saudi media companies are expected to expand the role of women substantially in the coming years.

TV pioneers

Women in media have played an important role supporting new women entering the field. Television host Donia Bakr Younis is one of the first female TV announcers to appear on Saudi television. Her career goes back more than 30 years, during which time she presented many programs, especially children's programs. She is perhaps best known for her "Mum Donia" character.

Younis was the first Saudi broadcaster to present programs such as "Studio No. 5," "Half Moon Beach," and "Our Habits," a program broadcasted during the holy month of Ramadan. She was honored by the Saudi Ministry of Culture and Information with a Certificate of Honor in 1991.

Similarly, Mona Abu Soliman is considered the first Saudi woman to appear on Arab satellite channels through the MBC TV as a co-host of the popular talk show "Kalam Nawaem” (The View-Like TV show) in 2002. She remains as co-host today and is considered one of the most famous founders of women's programming and for creating a forum for discussing issues related to Arab families and society.

Special role

The Saudi Women Media Center (AWMC) has played a central role in promoting women's participation in the media through training, professional support, and preparation of academic media studies. The Center was founded in 2003 by Nahed Bashtah, winner of the Arab Women Award in the field of journalism and information from the Arab Women Participation Studies Center in Paris in 2007.

In 2006, the Center launched the First Female Media Personnel Forum in Riyadh under the theme of "Women and Media: Methodology of Successful Development." The Forum was conducted under the auspices of Princess Adela Bint Abdullah, to discuss challenges facing women who work in media and ways to overcome them. The forum resulted in several recommendations, among them training and rehabilitating women in media to effectively participate in the ever-changing media profession.

The forum attendees also considered ways of providing more opportunities for women, to enhance their roles, and to appoint women to media positions that provide them with job security. Efforts to encourage institutions to avoid gender discriminate were also discussed.
Religious scholars were called upon to increase people’s awareness about the importance of women’s presence in media in developing Saudi society.

Spectacular role models

As a result of these efforts and many others, Saudi women in media personnel have earned the status they deserve. Many women have become famous, including Lojain Omran, presenter of  the popular “Good morning Arabs!” Omran has more than a million Twitter followers.

During her career, Omran has presented several programs, among them "The Situation with Logine" in 2004 on Bahraini TV. She also presented "Ya Hala" on Rotana Khaleejia, as well as "Around the Gulf" and "World of Eve" until she reached a turning point in her career by moving to "Good Morning Arabs!" presented on Satellite Channel MBC1, a program that brings news about important events from around the world in addition to discussing people’s interests in health, society, and family issues. The program also presents the latest fashion trends and highlights news from the art world.

Another example of a media role model is Sara Al-Dandrawi, the presenter of "Your Interaction," who is also very popular—she has more than a million Twitter followers. Al-Dandrawi started her media career with Al-Arabiya's "Wellness Guide," a health program. She was a member of the jury of “Mass Competition. She was also a presenter on "Good Morning Arabs.”

In Al-Dandrawi’s current program, "Your Interaction," she presents prominent current topics from daily life, including controversial issues from the political, social, sports, and artistic arenas.

Leading posts

Many Saudi women have reached positions of leadership in the media business. Ahlam Al-Faqehi is serving as director of the family and children's department for Saudi TV, Channel One.

Sanaa Muamena was appointed director of Ajyal Satellite Channel in 2011, becoming the first female Saudi director of a satellite channel.

Muamena was chosen for this position based on her 17 years of experience in managing children's programming. Maha Aqeel is the Director of the Information Department of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) at the OIC general secretariat in Jeddah.

These are only three examples of the many Saudi women working in media both within and outside the Kingdom.

Women in this article

Saudi writer Nahed Saeed Mohammed Bashtah received her PhD in Cultural Media from University of Salford, UK.

Saudi media personality who was born in Riyadh

Lojain Omran, a Saudi, is a presenter on "Good morning, Arabs!"

She is among the first generation of media personnel who appeared on Satellite Channel's. She was chosen as UN good will ambassadress

Add new comment