Latifa Al-Zahrani

لطيفة الزهراني

صحافية

مئات المهندسات السعوديات يشاركن في بناء المملكة الحديثة

لم تعد مهنة الهندسة حكرا على الرجل في المجتمع السعودي المعاصر؛ فهناك نحو 1420 مهندسة سعودية مسجلة لدى هيئة المهندسين من مختلف التخصصات والدرجات المهنية، يشاركن جنبا إلى جنب مع الذكور في بناء السعودية الحديثة.

وتشكل المهندسات السعوديات 53.9% من إجمالي المهندسات بالمملكة في مقابل 46.1% مهندسات غير سعوديات، بحسب إحصائية رسمية حديثة.

وبلغ عدد المكاتب الهندسية المسجلة بأسماء مهندسات سعوديات 34 مكتبا هندسيا رسميا عام 2015، بحسب صحيفة الاقتصادية السعودية.

وبالرغم من تزايد عدد المهندسات السعوديات بشكل سنوي وإثبات أنهن جديرات بممارسة العمل الميداني، إلا أن هذه الطاقات البشرية لم تستغل بالشكل الكامل نظرا لما يتعرضن له من عقبات أهمها عدم ثقة كثير من الشركات في كفاءة المهندسة السعودية ومن ثم رفض توظيفها، أو محاولة استغلالها عبر تقديم رواتب متدنية.

نماذج نشطة

ومن النماذج النسائية الناشطة في مجال الهندسة، المهندسة الشيماء الشايب التي تعد أول سعودية متخصصة بالهيكلة، وحصلت على البكالوريوس في الهندسة المدنية من جامعة سيدني للتكنولوجيا في أستراليا، ولا تزال مبتعثة لإكمال دراسة الماجستير في الهندسة المدنية، وتعمل بإحدى المكاتب الهندسية في مدينة سيدني.

وأنشأت الشيماء الشايب حساب "مهندسات سعوديات" على موقع تويتر عام 2014 والذي انتشر بشكل كبير في المملكة، ويعد أول منبر للمهندسات السعوديات في السعودية وخارجها بهدف جمع المهندسات من مختلف التخصصات لتطوير المهنة وإثراء التبادل المعرفي بصفة عامة، حيث يضم الحساب حاليا نحو 400 مهندسة، واستثمارا لنجاح الحساب أنشأت حسابا آخرا باسم "سعوديون مدنيون بلا حدود" ليضم المهندسين والمهندسات السعوديات معاً.

عقبات وتحديات

ومن التحديات التي يستعرضها حساب "مهندسات سعوديات" كيفية تعزيز مكانة المهندسة السعودية خاصة في هيئة المهندسين، وتذليل العقبات التي تواجهها في مزاولة العمل الميداني الذي يحتاج للخروج والإشراف على المباني في ظل ما تواجهه من تقييد لحركتها وهو ما لا يتيح لكثير من المهندسات المدنيات فرص للتوظيف.

وتطالب المهندسات من وزارة العمل وهيئة المهندسين أن توفر لهن فرص التوظيف ولو عبر إتاحة الفرص في المكاتب الاستشارية وعدم التفرقة بين المهندسات والمهندسين في المشاركة وأن تشتمل الجامعات السعودية على كليات وأقسام متخصصة في الهندسة المدنية للإناث بجانب التخصصات الأخرى فلا يحتجن للسفر للخارج لدراسة هذه التخصصات، لزيادة عدد المهندسات في هذا المجال.

ومن التحديات التي تواجهها المهندسات حديثات التخرج رفض بعض الشركات والمكاتب توظيفهن لأنها تشترط الخبرة التي لا تقل عن خمس سنوات في وقت لا تتوفر فيه لهن فرص التدريب.

كما تعاني المهندسات من تدني الرواتب نتيجة لاستغلال القطاع الخاص لهن لأنه يعلم حاجتهن في ظل عدم تعيينهن بالقطاع الحكومي لاسيما المهندسة المعمارية أو مصممة الديكور وعدم استطاعة المهندسة فتح مكتب هندسي خاص بها إلا بعد 4 سنوات عمل وهكذا لا يكون أمامها إلا القبول بالرواتب المتدنية التي يقدمها القطاع الخاص.

إبداع وتميز

ورغم الصعوبات التي تواجهها المهندسة السعودية إلا أنها أثبتت جدارتها في مهنة طالما كانت مقتصرة على الرجال.

ففي إبريل 2017، تقدم فريق من أوائل المهندسات السعوديات خريجات قسمي الهندسة الميكانيكية والصناعية من جامعة الفيصل، بمقترح مبتكر للاستفادة من مخلفات ألياف النخيل في تصنيع مقاعد الملاعب الرياضية وهو ما يمكن أن يكون واقعا حقيقيا في بطولة كأس العالم لكرة القدم قطر 2022.

وقدم المشروع فريق مكون من 5 مهندسات سعوديات، والذي تأهل لنصف النهائي لجائزة الابتكار الإقليمية التي أطلقتها اللجنة العليا للمشاريع والإرث، لدعم المبتكرين العرب، متحديا 22 مقترحا بحثيا.

وفي إبريل 2016، شاركت عدد من المهندسات السعوديات يعملن لدى شركة تطوير للمباني في تصميم مبان مدرسية تابعة لوزارة التعليم، وساهمن في إنجاز 50 مشروعا قدم للوزارة، وشمل عملهن الجرافيك والتصميم والنزول الميداني للوقوف على مطابقة مواصفات المباني الداخلية لمعايير وزارة التعليم ووزارة الشؤون البلدية والقروية.

جهود رسمية

ونتيجة إقبال النساء على دراسة الهندسة، استحدثت الجامعات السعودية أقساما هندسية للإناث خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية، ومن أوائل هذه الجامعات جامعة الملك عبد العزيز، التي أعلنت عام 2012 عن إتاحة أقسام الهندسة الكهربائية والهندسة الصناعية للإناث كأول جامعة حكومية في المملكة تتيح للطالبات هذا التخصص، إضافة إلى التنسيق مع الشركات الخاصة والقطاعات الحكومية، من أجل استيعاب خريجات هذا القطاع برواتب مجزية.

في حين كان لجامعة عفت السبق في إعطاء الفرصة للمرة الأولى لدخول الفتيات مجال العمارة، وهندسة الحاسبات على مستوى المملكة، بالإضافة إلى هندسة نظم المعلومات.

وتتيح أكثر الجامعات للطالبات أقساما هندسية تتنوع بين التصميم الداخلي وهندسة الحاسب الآلي ونظم المعلومات، في حين قلة من الجامعات هي التي توفر أقسام الهندسة المعمارية ومنها جامعة الأمير سلطان ودار العلوم.

وفي أكتوبر 2017، استحدثت جامعة الطائف قسما هندسياً نسائيا ضمن هيكل الإدارة العامة للمشاريع والصيانة بالجامعة، لتمكين المهندسات السعوديات من تولي مسؤولية تطوير إجراءات الصيانة والتشغيل والمراقبة والمتابعة.

وتعمل السعودية بشكل ملحوظ، على فتح مجالات عمل جديدة أمام المرأة وإتاحة الوظائف النسائية بما يرفع نسبة المشاركة في سوق العمل من 22% إلى 30% تنفيذا لرؤية المملكة 2030 الهادفة إلى زيادة مشاركة المرأة السعودية في التنمية المجتمعية.

سعوديات في هذا المقال

مهندسة مدنية تعد أول سعودية تتخصص في الهيكلة، تعمل في مكتب هندسي في مدينة سيدني وتدرس الماجستير حاليا

إضافة تعليق جديد

Latifa Al-Zahrani

Latifa Al-Zahrani

Journalist

Saudi female engineers power up the modern Kingdom developments

Engineering is no longer limited to men in modern Saudi society. Today more than 1,400 Saudi women are engineers working in a variety of specialties and professional levels who are registered at the engineering commission. They are participating alongside their male peers in the construction of modern Saudi Arabia.

According to official statistics, female Saudi engineers comprise 53.9% of women engineers, compared to 46.1% of non-Saudi females working as engineers in the Kingdom.
According to the Saudi economic newspaper, the number of female engineers registered at the engineering offices in Saudi Arabia in 2015 reached 34.

Despite the increase in female Saudi engineers who have demonstrated their proficiency and talents in practice, the Kingdom has not fully benefited from these professionals in part because of the obstacles these women face. The most important obstacle is the lack of confidence of many executives in the quality of work produced by women engineers. Many executives have refused to recruit women, or when they do hire them, they too frequently exploit women by paying low salaries, for example.

Active models

One of the most active Saudi female engineers is Shaimaa Al-Shayeb, considered the first Saudi engineer specializing in construction. She holds a BSc in Civil Engineering from Sydney University of Technology in Australia. She is still completing her master's degree in civil engineering and works at an engineering office in Sydney.

Al-Shayeb established the "Female Saudi Engineers" account on Twitter in 2014, which has widely spread in the Kingdom. It is considered the first forum for female Saudi engineers inside and outside Saudi Arabia for gathering female engineers from various specialties, to develop the profession, and enrich knowledge exchange in general. The account currently includes about 400 engineers. In an attempt to further invest in the account’s success, Al-Shayeb created another account called "Saudi Civilians without Borders" which includes male and female Saudi engineers.

Obstacles and challenges

Among the main challenges that female Saudi engineers encounter is enhancing the position of female Saudi engineers overall, especially at the engineers commission, and to overcome the obstacles that face them during field work. Traditional Saudi culture does not encourage women to go to the field and mix with men during work. Despite rapid society changes, this problem is to be solved for female engineers as this perception is affecting their recruitment in general.

Female engineers demand that the Ministry of Labor and Engineers Authority provide them with job opportunities, even in consulting positions, and to stop differentiating between male and female engineers. Moreover, Saudi universities should include faculties and departments specialized in civil engineering for females alongside other specialties so female engineering students are not required to travel abroad to study engineering and related professions.

One of the challenges faced by newly graduated female engineers is the failure of some companies and government offices to employ women by requiring at least five years of experience at a time when women do not have training opportunities.

Female engineers also suffer from low salaries as they are being exploited by the private sector because they know their needs in the absence of their appointment in the governmental sector, especially architect engineers or interior designers. This is in addition to the inability of female engineers to open their own engineering offices after four years of work.

Accordingly, these women accept low salaries offered in the private sector in order to gain the experience needed to open their own businesses.

Creativity and Distinction

Despite the difficulties these female Saudi engineers face, they have shown their efficiency and talent in a profession previously limited to men. In April 2017, a team of female Saudi engineers—graduates of mechanical and industrial engineering departments at Al-Faisal University—presented an innovative proposal to use palm-fiber waste in the construction of stadium seats. This was an idea that could be actually implemented at the World Cup, scheduled in Qatar in 2022.

The project was presented by a team of five female Saudi engineers who were competing with 22 other research proposals. The project advanced to the semi-finals of the Regional Innovation Award launched by the High Committee for Projects and Heritage to support Arab innovators.

In April 2016, a number of female Saudi engineers working at Tatweer Building Company participated in designing school buildings affiliated with the Ministry of Education. They contributed to the completion of 50 projects submitted to the Ministry. Their work included graphic design, as well as fieldwork to ascertain the conformity of internal buildings specifications with the standards of Ministry of Education and Ministry of Municipal and Rural Affairs.

Official efforts

As a result of women's interest in studying engineering, Saudi universities have developed engineering departments for females during the past few years. The first of these universities was King Abdulaziz University, which announced in 2012 the availability of the electrical engineering and industrial engineering departments for females. This is in addition to coordinating with private companies and governmental sectors to absorb female graduates in this sector with good salaries.

Meanwhile, Effat University in Jeddah was the first university to give women the opportunity to study and earn degrees in architecture, computer engineering, and information technology engineering, among other professions.

Most universities provide female students with engineering departments offering a variety of degrees, from interior design  to computer engineering, to information technology engineering. Few others, including Prince Sultan University and Dar Al-Ulum, allow women to study architecture as well.

In October 2017, Al-Taif University introduced a women's engineering department within the university’s general administration and maintenance structure to enable female Saudi engineers to develop maintenance, operation, monitoring, and follow-up procedures.

Saudi Arabia is working with remarkable speed to open new professional opportunities to women and to provide jobs for these women, to increase their percentage of the labor market from 22% to 30%, an effort consistent with the Kingdom’s 2030 vision to increase the participation of Saudi women in societal development.

Women in this article

Al-Shayeb is a civil engineer specializing in structuring; she is working in an engineering office in Sydney and is currently studying for her master's degree

Add new comment