Hasnaa Ali

حسناء علي

صحافية

سعوديات يغامرن ويطبقن تجربة "المقاهي الأسترالية" في حائل

في خطوة لافتة، كشفت سيدة أعمال سعودية عن توظيف مجموعة من الفتيات السعوديات للعمل داخل مقهى يقدم خدماته للرجال والإناث على حد سواء في منطقة حائل الواقعة شمالي غربي السعودية، في مغامرة منها لتنفيذ مشروع تجاري مختلف بهدف محاكاة أساليب المقاهي الأسترالية.

واختارت سيدة الأعمال مستشفى خاص لبدء مشروعها كتجربة نظراً لتخوف بعض الفتيات من العمل في مقهى مختلط، نظراً للحساسيات الكبيرة في المجتمع السعودي تجاه الاختلاط في الأماكن العامة، بالرغم من صدور قرار في فبراير 2018 بقصر العمل على النساء فقط داخل المقاهي الموجودة بالمولات.

كما هدفت سيدة الأعمال من اختيار مقهى داخل مستشفى، لاختبار ردة فعل المجتمع المحافظ تجاه هذه الخطوة قبل التوسع ونقل المقهى إلى مكان عام، حيث كشفت السيدة أن التجربة مرت بسلام وأنها بصدد افتتاح فرع ثانٍ في مكان مختلط.

الزبائن والمضايقات

وأكدت الفتيات السعوديات الأربع، اللاتي يعملن كعاملات في المقهى، إن التعامل مع الزبائن كان مريحا ولم يتعرضن لأي مضايقات، حيث يعملن على فترات متفاوتة تنتهي بحلول الساعة الثامنة مساء وبعد الثامنة يعمل أحد الرجال احتراما لخصوصية الفتيات وعدم قدرتهن على التأخر ليلا مراعاةً للضوابط التي تفرضها تقاليد المجتمع.
وأشارت مالكة المقهى أنها صممته على الطريقة الأسترالية، حيث عاشت فترة ابتعاث زوجها في أستراليا وقررت نقل هوية المقاهي الأسترالية إلى منطقة حائل السعودية.

وكانت منطقة المدينة المنورة التي تضم المسجد النبوي، شهدت تجربة شبيهة قبل أربعة أعوام، حيث افتتح مقهى نسائي وظفت فيه مجموعة من طالبات الجامعات وكان الهدف منه توفير دخل إضافي للفتيات، إلا أن التجربة أثارت موجة جدل كبيرة حينها كانت سببا في فشل المشروع.

وعلى الرغم من ذلك، تبدو ردود الأفعال تجاه المقهى الأسترالي مختلفة، حيث تبدو أقل حدة وانفعالا، خاصة وأنها تأتي بالتزامن مع مجموعة من الإصلاحات الاجتماعية التي تشهدها السعودية هذه الأيام، والتي تهدف إلى تمكين المرأة ومنحها مزيد من الحقوق، وهو ما ساعد على تقبل شرائح جديدة لفكرة المقهى النسائي.

مالكة محطة وقود

وحرصت العديد من النماذج النسائية على تحقيق أكبر استفادة ممكنة من موجة الإصلاح الحالية في السعودية، حيث قررن خوض مجالات مختلفة كانت محظورة عليهن في الماضي، ليقودوا غيرهن من النساء على طريق التغيير.

وكانت من بين هذه التجارب، ما أقدمت عليه سيدة الأعمال السعودية "ميرفت بخاري" في مطلع يناير الماضي، من كسر احتكار الرجال لإدارة محطات الوقود في البلد النفطي الكبير، حيث قامت بافتتاح أول محطة رقمية نموذجية متكاملة الخدمات في السعودية.

بخاري قالت في تصريحات سابقة لوسائل الإعلام، إن الهدف من إنشاء المحطة هو تقديم نموذج يراعي إنسانية المواطنين والمقيمين من ناحية النظافة ومعايير الجودة والخدمات يجب أن يحتذى به في محطات الوقود مستقبلاً.

وجاء قرار السيدة السعودية بافتتاح المحطة بعد فترة قصير من صدور القرار الملكي بالسماح للمرأة بقيادة السيارة، حيث قدّرت أن السيدات السعوديات سيلجأن للتعامل مع المحطات لتزويد سياراتهن بالوقود، وبالتالي لا بد من وجودهن في القطاعات الخدمية للقيادة والتي أبرزها محطات الوقود، لتعطي لهن الشعور بالأمان وأريحية أكبر في التعامل.

المرأة والاستثمار

وكانت وزارة التجارة السعودية أعلنت قبل أيام السماح للمرأة بتأسيس عملها التجاري الخاص والاستفادة من خدمات المؤسسات الحكومة دون الحاجة إلى موافقة ولي الأمر، وذلك ضمن مبادرة أطلقت عليها اسم "ما يحتاج".
وكانت المرأة في السابق تحتاج إلى موافقة ولي أمرها، الذي قد يكون الأب أو الأخ أو الزوج، عند القيام بنشاطات تجارية.

ومن شأن هذه الخطوة المساهمة في دعم القطاع الخاص السعودي بشكلٍ كبير، لا سيما مع ارتفاع نسبة السيدات السعوديات المؤهلات للعمل وإدارة المشاريع واللاتي كن لا يعملن سابقاً بسبب عدم وجود قوانين واضحة تنظم دورهن وتحمي حقوقهن.

سعوديات في هذا المقال

سيدة أعمال وشاعرة وإعلامية سعودية، عملت كرئيسة لقسم الإعلام في مجموعة الحقيل للاستثمار، وهي أول سيدة سعودية تدير محطة وقود نموذجية.

إضافة تعليق جديد

Hasnaa Ali

Hasnaa Ali

Journalist

Women-powered Australian coffee shop opens in Hail

Venturing into a unique Australian-inspired concept for the kingdom’s coffee drinkers, a Saudi businesswoman has revealed plans to employ Saudi female baristas at her coffee shop Al Hail, in the northern west region of Saudi Arabia, serving male and female patrons.

Taking into account Saudi Arabia’s cultural sensitivities and a history of gender segregation in public spaces, she tested the waters in a private hospital coffee shop setting, with the aim of easing both her young female employees and would-be patrons into the experience. It was a calculated risk, in light of a decision in February 2018 restricting the employment of female staffers to coffee shops located inside malls.

The experience went without a hitch, the businesswoman claimed. She plans to extend it to a second mixed branch for the shop.

Mixed reactions

Female employees who had undergone the three-month experience were also reassured; working consecutive shifts running through to 8 pm – after which a male employee would take over, in consideration of customary curfews on Saudi women – they claimed their experience with patrons was positive and unobstructed.
The coffee shop’s design and concept were modeled after those in Australia, where the Saudi businesswoman accompanied her husband during his one-year stint in the country, and was inspired to replicate these spaces in her hometown Hail.

Her mixed coffee shop setting marks a first for Saudi female baristas. But Saudi Arabia’s Medina, which houses Masjid an-Nabawi (Prophet's Mosque), a major Islamic pilgrimage site, saw a similar experiment four years ago; an all-women coffee shop employed female college students, primarily to support them in earning extra pocket money. Public backlash ensued at a time when women’s rights in the kingdom were making lukewarm progress. The market was unready, and the concept flopped.

The times seem to have changed with Al Hail’s successful mixed coffee shop experience; reactions to it have been less severe and outrageous, and the timing, optimal for the kingdom’s sociocultural reform plans. The latter are heavily focusing on women’s empowerment and additional rights.

Fueling up the momentum

Many other Saudi businesswomen are building on this reform momentum across sectors – and more so, into unchartered territory. Among them, Mervat Bukhari broke into the highly male-dominated and monopolized petroleum distribution and station management field.

In January, she would launch the first fully integrated digital petrol station in the kingdom, a few months after a royal decree was issued allowing women to obtain driver’s licenses in the kingdom.

In the press, Bukhari was reported to have set up the station as a hygiene and quality service benchmark model for other stations to follow suit, designed around citizens and residents. More importantly, she saw opportunity in the decree for petrol stations that would provide a safe and comforting environment for future Saudi women drivers.

Longer-term investments

Bukhari’s and other women’s entrepreneurial ventures are merely the starting point. Only days ago, the Saudi ministry of commerce launched the “No Need” initiative; it announced that women would be allowed to resort to governmental institutions, and to register and start their businesses without the consent or permission of a guardian. Previously, commercial activities for women in Saudi Arabia were subject to male guardianship.

Now, under the kingdom’s macro plans to support and overhaul the private sector, both human capital and revenue generation opportunities are ample for women’s contribution; more so with the rise of professionally and academically qualified Saudi women who were once sidelined by an imbalanced regulatory framework for their employment.

Women in this article

Businesswoman, poet and media personality Mervat Bukhari is the first Saudi woman to run and work at a petrol station in Saudi Arabia.

Add new comment