Aisha Bint Abdullah

عائشة بنت عبد الله

صحافية

مراسلة "الإندبندنت" تحكي عن تجربتها في الرياض

عبرت "ميليسا تويج" الصحافية بجريدة "إندبندنت" البريطانية، عن دهشتها من الحرية التي تمتعت بها خلال زيارتها إلى السعودية مؤخرا، بالرغم من كونها صحافية شابة غير متزوجة تتحرك بمفردها، حيث كانت تنتقل بحرية تامة داخل مدينة الرياض، ونادرا ما وجدت نفسها ممنوعة من دخول مكان ما بسبب كونها امرأة، كاشفة أنها استطاعت التأقلم على ارتداء العباءة النسائية التي اشتهرت بها نساء المملكة.

وخاضت ميليسا تجربة التحرك والعيش في السعودية كامرأة تعيش بمفردها، وماذا يمكن أن تواجه أو تفعل؟ وما هي أوجه وأنشطة تمضية الوقت الذي يمكن أن تصادفها في المملكة؟ باحثة عن إجابة لسؤال: هل يمكن أن تصبح السعودية منطقة سياحية جاذبة للنساء بشكل خاص؟ وذلك خلال حضورها لفعاليات أسبوع الموضة العربي، الذي أقيم في الرياض أبريل الماضي.

وتحكي الصحافية عن تجربتها من البداية قائلة، إنها تناولت وجبة الإفطار الصباحية في اليوم الأول لوصولها، وفكرت في الخروج من فندق ريتز كارلتون بالرياض دون ارتداء "العباءة" التي لم تكن قد وصلتها حتى ذلك الوقت والاكتفاء بملابسها الغربية، وفي الساعة العاشرة والنصف صباحا خرجت إلى بهو الفندق فقابلها موظف الاستقبال وطالبها بابتسامة اعتذارية وأدب جم أن تعود إلى غرفتها لحين وصول العباءة.

طريقة جديدة للعيش

وأشادت ميليسا بالتغييرات الكبيرة التي قام بها ولي العهد الأمير محمد بن سلمان خلال الشهور القليلة الماضية، والتي قالت إنها تغييرات يهدف من خلالها إلى مساعدة المملكة على تغيير نمط حياتها للأفضل، إعمالا لرؤية المملكة 2030 التي أطلقها مؤخرا، ومن أبرز النقاط التي عبرت سعادتها بها، هي تخفيف القيود على الفصل بين الجنسين، والسماح للمرأة بقيادة السيارة وحضور مباريات كرة القدم، والأهم من ذلك تمكين المرأة من التدرج في السلم الوظيفي.

وبينت ميليسا أنها جاءت إلى السعودية لحضور "أسبوع الموضة العربية"، لافتة إلى أن فعالية كهذا كان من الصعب تخيل تنظيمها في المملكة قبل عامين، إلا أنها الآن باتت حقيقة ملموسة واستضافت بسببها الرياض العديد من مصممي الأزياء العالميين.

وأشارت إلى أن السياحة تعد أحد أبرز أسلحة القيادة السعودية لتنويع مصادر الاقتصاد السعودي بعيدا عن الاعتماد على النفط، لافتة إلى أنه بدءا من الصيف الحالي ستجري المملكة بعض التعديلات على أنظمة تأشيرات الدخول لتخفيف قيود الزيارة والتوسع في استقبال السياح والزوار، إلا أن الصحافية تساءلت أيضا: رغم كل هذه التغييرات.. هل يمكن أن تصبح أكثر البلدان المحافظة على وجه الأرض وجهة سياحية جذابة، خاصة للنساء؟

الحياة في الرياض

وواصلت ميليسا سرد تجربتها في شوارع السعودية، حيث توجهت إلى أحد الأسواق الشعبية في الرياض، وأخذت في وصف شكل المتاجر والسلع التي تبيعها وأشكال التجار والزبائن وعمليات البيع والشراء، وعبرت عن امتنانها لتمكنها من الاطلاع على تفاصيل مجتمع لم يشاهده سوى عدد قليل من الغربيين، واصفة المجتمع السعودي بأنه عالم "لم تلوثه التأثيرات الخارجية".

وفي اليوم ذاته، توجهت ميليسا إلى زيارة بازار خاص بالأزياء النسائية، وهو نوعية من الأسواق المحدودة تقام في بعض الفنادق والتي تكون مقتصرة على النساء فقط، حيث تتمكن المرأة من ترك عباءاتها والتحرك بحرية للاطلاع على أحدث صيحات الموضة وتجربة الملابس اللاتي يردن شرائها، كما يمكنهم الاستمتاع بشرب القهوة أو تناول الحلويات في جول كامل من الخصوصية النسائية.

ولفتت إلى أنها قابلت خلال زيارتها إلى المملكة، العديد من النساء اللاتي عبرن عن سعادتهن من التغييرات الأخيرة التي شهدتها السعودية خاصة في أوضاع المرأة وحقوقها، حيث قابلت مجموعة من السعوديات اللاتين يتدربن على الفنون التشكيلية وشاهدت لوحاتهن، وغيرهن من النساء اللاتي استطعن اقتحام عدد من مجالات العمل مؤخرا، والتي كانت ممنوعة عليهم في السابق.

كما عبرت عن إعجابها بإمكانيات النساء اللاتي شاهدتهن يعملن في المتحف الوطني السعودي، حيث كان بإمكانهن شرح تاريخ كل القطع الأثرية الموجودة بالمتحف واستعراض تاريخ مفصل عن مكة المكرمة بشكل خاص والمملكة العربية السعودية بشكل عام، وذلك بعدة لغات لمجموعة كبيرة من الزوار الأجانب الذين جاءوا لزيارة المتحف من مختلف بلدان العالم، كما أشادت بتنظيم المتحف ذاته وطريقة عرض القطع الأثرية واستعراض النماذج المختلفة.

تحرك نحو الأفضل

ولم يفت ميليسا أن تشير إلى بعض النقاط التي عبرت عن عدم إعجابها بها، مثل استمرار تنفيذ عقوبة الإعدام في السعودية على بعض الجرائم، كما أشارت إلى أنه رغم كل التغييرات والحريات التي حصلت عليها المرأة مؤخرا، إلا أن السعوديين لازالوا حريصين على مسألة الفصل ما بين الجنسين خاصة في طوابير تقديم الخدمات سواء في المطار أو غيره من الجهات الرسمية.

إلا أنها اعتبرت أن التحرك ببطء نحو تطوير المجتمع وتغييره إلى الأفضل هو تفكير سليم وناجح، كاشفة عن دهشتها من الحرية التي تمتعت بها خلال زيارتها إلى المملكة، بالرغم من كونها صحافية شابة غير متزوجة تتحرك بمفردها، حيث كانت تنتقل بحرية تامة داخل المدينة، ونادرا ما وجدت نفسها ممنوعة من دخول مكان ما بسبب كونها امرأة، مثل حمام سباحة مخصص للرجال.

كما أنها استطاعت أن تتكيف مع ارتداء العباءة النسائية بسهولة، ولم تعد في حاجة إلى البحث عن زي آخر في خزانة ملابسها يناسب ثقافة المجتمع السعودي، لافتة إلى أنه بالرغم أن معظم الفعاليات التي شاركت فيها خلال زيارتها كانت مقتصرة على النساء فقط، إلا أنها حضرت تجمعات لرجال ونساء عاديين، كانوا يتناولون الطعام أو احتساء الشاي، ويناقشون مستقبل بلدهم والتطورات الأخيرة وانعكاساتها على المجتمع.

السياحة في المملكة

وعن الوجهات السياحية التي تتمتع بها السعودية، قالت ميليسا أن هناك الكثير من الأماكن في المملكة التي يمكن زيارتها، وليس الأمر مقتصر على مدينة الرياض فقط، فهناك مدينة جدة الساحلية التي يعتبرها الكثيرون مدينة جذابة ومنفتحة على الثقافات الأخرى أكثر من أي مكان آخر داخل السعودية، كما توجد حضارة المدائن في شمال المملكة، وهي مواقع أثرية شيدت من أحجار وردية تشبه البتراء في الأردن، وتستحق اهتماما كبيرا من السياح أكبر مما تحظى به حاليا.

كما أشارت إلى أن هناك خطط تجري على قدم وساق لتطوير سواحل السعودية المطلة على البحر الأحمر، حيث يتوقع افتتاح منتجع عالمي في عام 2022 على الساحل الشمالي الغربي، كما أن شواطئ السعودية تجذب المهتمين باستكشاف الشعاب المرجانية، مؤكدة أن السعودية باتت واحدة من أكثر المناطق الجاذبة للسياح في الشرق الأوسط، وأنه ستنافس دبي والأردن في مجال السياحة خلال سنوات قليلة.

إضافة تعليق جديد

Aisha Bint Abdullah

Aisha Bint Abdullah

Journalist

The Independent reporter shares the Riyadh way of life through her eyes

Melissa Twigg is a reporter for The Independent, one of Britain’s longest-established and outspoken newspapers. She is also young and sinlge. Two years ago, her status may have posed a few challenges working around the Kingdom’s stricter regulatory framework on women visiting the country. Today, in the context of the country’s laxer gender segregation laws and reforms on women’s rights, Twigg puts both to the test in her recent visit to Riyadh, on the occasion of the city’s first Arab Fashion Week.

In her report, aptly and simply titled “What it’s like to visit Saudi Arabia as a woman”, Twigg recounted how she was “moving freely around the city”, rarely, if ever, restricted from entering certain places because of her gender. She also found it “relatively easy” to adapt to wearing the Abaya – the traditional religious cloak worn by Saudi women and, according to a recent announcement by a top Saudi cleric, no longer compulsory in the Kingdom.

From one activity to the other, Twigg’s Riyadh experience was constantly pushing to answer one question: Could Saudi Arabia become an attractive touristic destination for women?

Twigg’s Abaya had not yet been delivered when she decided to walk down to the hotel lobby and head for breakfast, donning her “Western” clothes. Politely and almost apologetically, the male receptionist asked her to wait in her room until her Abaya arrived.

A new way of life

“But I could feel the slow move towards emancipation gently unfurling,” later writes Twigg in her report, lauding the radical changes made and led by Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed Bin Salman in recent months; ones that she believes will ultimately reshape the Kingdom’s way of life for the better under the Saudi National Vision 2030. Twigg was particularly pleasantly surprised with the laxer approach to gender segregation in the country, and more importantly, equality, from “measures to get women driving, attending football matches and, most importantly, climbing the career ladder”.

The very occasion on which Twigg paid her Riyadh visit, the Arab Fashion Week, was unimaginable only two years ago in the Kingdom, she says. Now a palpable reality, the show has already attracted global fashion powerhouse names.

“Tourism is central to the government’s epic plans to diversify away from a dependence on oil,” says Twigg, noting that the Kingdom has already begun revising processes and conditions to ease visa regulations and encourage the influx of visitors and tourists from this summer onwards. “But despite all this change, can one of the most conservative societies on earth ever become a viable tourism destination, particularly for women?” she asks.

Life in Riyadh

Along the Riyadh streets, Twigg strode across one of the city’s most popular souks, relishing in the colorful setting and interactions she saw. “I felt privileged to get a glimpse into a world so few Westerners have seen – one that momentarily felt entirely untainted by outside influence,” she writes.

On the same day, Twigg headed to a ladies-only fashion bazaar. In the Kingdom, these bazaars are typically held at hotels or conference rooms, reserved for women from all ages. In a setting of complete privacy, women at the bazaar can remove their Abayas “in the safety of the female-only space to shop, eat sweets and drink perfumed coffee,” as Twigg describes it.

During her visit, she says that many women she met were vocally happy with the changes Saudi Arabia is undergoing, particularly on issues and reforms centering on their rights and state of affairs. Among them were a group of women in arts, and others who recently broke into fields that once posed high – or nearly impossible – barriers for women’s entry and growth.

Twigg was particularly struck by the female curators of the “imposing National Museum of Saudi Arabia”; she admired the museum’s “immaculately presented exhibits and detailed model recreations of Mecca” as much as she did the passion and knowledge the curators exhibited as they took foreign visitors through the history and heritage of Saudi Arabia in different languages.

Moving forward

And while she praised the many palpable, positive changes she saw in the Kingdom, Twigg did not shy away from situations that left her slightly “rattled”, as she puts it; such as wandering through central squares where beheadings still took place, and seeing the ongoing gender segregation measures in queues and public spaces such as airports and official offices.

Despite her reservations, Twigg considers the slow but sure move toward progress in the Kingdom a surefire success. “I was surprised by how much freedom I – a young, unmarried, female journalist – enjoyed,” she writes, and rarely, if at all, restricted from entering places because of her gender – with the exception of men-only hotel swimming pools and spas, naturally.

Twigg quickly adapted to the Abaya and, throughout the rest of her trip, did not feel the need to tailor her wardrobe to culturally sensitive outfits. Despite most of the functions she attended being reserved to women only, she also took part in gatherings where both men and women were discussing the future of their country, and the possible repercussions of the changes it was undergoing.

More than meets the eye

Twigg was equally impressed with the many touristic destinations and areas around the Kingdom that are worth visiting and exploring outside of the city of Riyadh. She mentions Jeddah as an example of a famously cosmopolitan and creative city compared with other areas in the Kingdom. “To the north of Riyadh is the Jubba Paleolithic Kingdom and Mada’in Saleh – Petra-like rose-gold archeological sites that rise out of the dusty sand and deserve far more attention than they currently receive,” she adds.

Of course, Twigg does not fail to mention the developments to come on the Saudi tourism front, with plans to open up Saudi coasts overlooking the Red Sea; by 2022, an international resort is slated for a full throttle launch on the northwest coastline. Saudi Arabia will “no doubt attract some international visitors keen to explore the coral reefs in relative solitude”, and remains “one of the more intrepid holiday destinations currently on the market”, concludes Twigg, pitting the Kingdom against other touristic destinations in the region such as Dubai and Jordan.

Add new comment