Haifa Al Dosari

هيفاء الدوسري

صحافية

المرأة السعودية تقتنص منصبا دبلوماسيا جديدا

أصدر وزير التجارة والاستثمار السعودي، ماجد القصبي، قرارا بتعيين السعودية سمر بنت مازن صالح، ملحقا تجاري في الملحقية التجارية السعودية بالعاصمة اليابانية طوكيو، وهو قرار يعد الأول من نوعه في تاريخ الوزارة.

ويبلغ حجم التبادل التجاري بين الرياض وطوكيو ما يزيد على 100 مليار ريال بحسب إحصائيات رسمية صدرت في عام 2016، وهو ما يجسد العلاقات التجارية والاقتصادية الوطيدة بين السعودية واليابان.

ويأتي اختيار سمر صالح لهذا المنصب الهام، تجسيدا لإيمان القيادة السعودية بأهمية دور المرأة وقدرتها على تولي أخطر وأهم المناصب على قدم المساواة التامة مع الرجل، في ظل النقلة النوعية الكبيرة التي تشهدها العلاقات بين البلدين ومساعي تعزيز التعاون الاقتصادي إلى أعلى مراحله.

خبرة دولية

وسبق لسمر صالح أن عملت كمسؤولة في الملحقية التجارية السعودية في إيطاليا عن تنمية التبادل التجاري خاصة الصادرات غير النفطية من السلع والخدمات، وهي خبرة في العمل الدولي أهلتها للترقي والوصول إلى منصبها الحالي.

وأثناء عملها في إيطاليا، أسند لسمر العديد من المهمات التي أكسبتها خبرة مميزة، منها التنسيق مع الجهات الحكومية السعودية والإيطالية ذات العلاقة بترويج الصادرات غير النفطية وفقا للخطة التنفيذية في وكالة التجارة الخارجية للملحقيات، كما أسندت إليها مهمة بناء العلاقات الاستراتيجية مع أصحاب الأعمال الرائدين في إيطاليا، والإسهام في فتح السوق الإيطالي أمام المنتجات السعودية عبر مبادرة "صنع في السعودية".

القطاع المالي

وقبل أن تبدأ سمر حياتها العملية، حصلت في بداية مشوارها على شهادة الماجستير في الصحافة والإعلام الدولي من جامعة سيتي في لندن، كما أنهت برنامج القيادات التنفيذية من جامعة هارفرد الأمريكية.

وحصلت كذلك على شهادة البكالوريوس في الصحافة والإعلام تخصّص الدراسات الدولية والحكومية من الجامعة الأمريكية في الشارقة، إضافة إلى عددٍ من الدورات التدريبية الأخرى.

وكانت انطلاقتها العملية في القطاع المالي، حيث بدأت بمهام صغيرة سرعان ما تعاظمت مع مرور الوقت في عدد من الجهات الحكومية ذات الأدوار الدبلوماسية والتجارية، ساعدها في ذلك قدرتها على التحدث باللغتين الإنجليزية والإيطالية بطلاقة.

مناصب دبلوماسية

وتنضم سمر صالح بهذا المنصب إلى العديد من السعوديات اللاتي يتقلدن العديد من الأدوار الدولية سواء في جهات دبلوماسية سعودية أو في منظمات عالمية، وهي المناصب التي تمكنت المرأة السعودية من اقتحامها مؤخرا بشكل ملحوظ، منهية بذلك عقود طويلة من سيطرة الرجال على المناصب الدولية والدبلوماسية.

وتعد السعودية فاطمة باعشن، إحدى النماذج المميزة للمرأة السعودية العاملة في الحقل الدولي، والتي عينت في سبتمبر الماضي متحدثة باسم السفارة السعودية في واشنطن، لتكون أول سعودية تتحدث باسم مؤسسة حكومية.

وهناك الدكتورة ثريا عبيد عضو مجلس الشورى، والتي سبق لها أن شغلت منصب المدير التنفيذي لصندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان والأمين العام المساعد للأمم المتحدة. وهي أول سعودية ترأس وكالة تابعة للأمم المتحدة.

كما سبق أن انتخبت الدكتور أفنان الشعيبي، أكثر من مرة، في منصب الأمين العام والرئيس التنفيذي للغرفة التجارية العربية البريطانية، وهو ما أهلها لأن تصبح أول سعودية تمنح جائزة "دبلوماسي العام" من مجلة الدبلوماسي البريطانية، لنجاحها في النهوض بالمنظمة العربية وتحويلها إلى منظمة فاعلة على المستوى العربي والبريطاني.

وكذلك سيدة الأعمال السعودية نشوى الطاهر التي عينت قنصلا فخريا لدى هولندا، كونها من أهم رموز السعودية في المجال الاقتصادي والدبلوماسي.

وفي المجال الرياضي يبرز اسم الإعلامية سميرة عزيز والتي انتخبت مديرة لمنظمة الاتحاد الدولي للرياضات العالمية التابعة للأمم المتحدة.

زيارة ملكية

وتعاظم التعاون الاقتصادي والتجاري بين السعودية واليابان بشكل كبير، عقب زيارة الملك سلمان بن عبدالعزيز إلى اليابان في مارس 2017، ضمن جولته الآسيوية التي شملت ماليزيا وإندونيسيا وبروناي والصين والمالديف والأردن.

وأسفرت الزيارة عن توقيع عدد كبير من الاتفاقيات والشراكات بين الجانبين، وكان من أبرز هذه الاتفاقيات، مشروع مذكرة تعاون بين حكومتي اليابان والسعودية، لتنفيذ الرؤية السعودية اليابانية 2030، والتي يتوقع أن تدفع بالعلاقات الاقتصادية بين البلدين إلى مرحلة جديدة، لا تقتصر على التبادل التجاري في صادرات البترول واستيراد السيارات، بل تمتد لتصبح شراكة استراتيجية شاملة.

وكانت العلاقات التجارية بين طوكيو والرياض، انطلقت قبل عشرات السنين، عندما وصل أول وفد اقتصادي ياباني إلى المملكة عام 1953، قبل أن يعلن لاحقا عن إقامة العلاقات الدبلوماسية الرسمية بين البلدين في 1955.

سعوديات في هذا المقال

مسؤولة سعودية تعمل في المجال الدبلوماسي، باتت أول سعودية تتولى منصب ملحق تجاري في تاريخ وزارة التجارة السعودية

إضافة تعليق جديد

Haifa Al Dosari

Haifa Al Dosari

Journalist

Samar Saleh’s diplomat appointment marks breakthrough for Saudi power women

Saudi Arabia's Minister of Commerce and Investment, Majid Al-Qasabi, has issued a decree appointing Saudi Samar Bint Mazen Saleh, as the country’s trade attaché in Tokyo, marking a first-time and milestone move in the ministry's history.

Trade relations and business between Riyadh and Tokyo size up to over 100 billion Saudi Riyals, according to official statistics released in 2016; figures reflecting both the magnitude and closeness of Saudi-Japanese trade and economic ties. In this context, Samar Saleh’s high-level appointment as the trade liaison between both economic powers speaks volumes on the Kingdom’s faith and confidence in Saudi women. It also reiterates the Saudi leadership’s commitment to a level playing field between Saudi’s female power players and their male counterparts, particularly as the KSA and Japan enter a transitional stage in their trade relations, with a core focus on reinforcing economic collaboration to unprecedented levels.

International exposure

Samar Saleh had previously served as a director for the Saudi Commercial Attaché in Italy, where she was tasked with the development of commercial trade between both countries, with a focus on non-hydrocarbon diversification, goods and services. This wealth of experience catapulted her to the top, where she climbed up the ranks to her current role and appointment.

During her stint in Italy, Saleh honed a multi-faceted skillset and work experience, coordinating with a number of governmental Saudi and Italian authorities to push the Kingdom’s non-hydrocarbon economic diversification efforts. The latter fall under an umbrella executive plan by the Foreign Trade Agency of Attachés. Moreover, Saleh’s remit extended to top-level, strategic relationship-building with leading businesspeople in Italy, and to significant contributions into opening up the Italian market to the “Made in Saudi Arabia” initiative – aimed at promoting the import of homegrown Saudi products.

Managing finances

Prior to her diplomatic trade career, Saleh obtained her master’s degree in journalism and international media from London’s City University. She later graduated from Harvard University’s Program for Executive Leadership.

Earlier in her academic journey, Saleh pursued her baccalaureate degree in journalism and media, with an emphasis on international and governmental relations from the American University of Sharjah, in addition to a number of training modules.

Her early career days were in the finance field, where she took on small roles and responsibilities that grew in scope and in weight, all the way to Saleh’s crossover to diplomatic and trade roles in a number of governmental entities. Saleh’s dual mastery of English and Italian languages would catapult her career growth.

A league of diplomatic leaders

With this appointment and trajectory, Saleh joins a league of Saudi power women who have taken on international roles, be they on the official Saudi diplomat side, or on that of global organizations themselves. Putting an end to historically male-dominated setups and structures – not only in the Kingdom, but also, in foreign markets – Saudi’s leading women visibly broke through the diplomacy circles and glass ceiling in recent months.

In September 2017, Fatimah Baeshen would make the first female rep for a Saudi governmental entity as the Saudi embassy’s spokesperson in Washington. 

Dr. Thoraya Ebeid, today a member of the Shura Council, has made equally great strides for Saudi women in the global humanitarian field.

Having previously served as the executive director of the United Nations Population Fund, and as the assistant Secretary-General of the United Nations, Ebeid was the first Saudi woman to head a UN agency.

Dr. Afnan Al-Shuaibi, the secretary-general and executive president of the British Arab Chamber of Commerce, is another forerunner success for Saudi women.

Elected twice for her current role, first in 2007 and then in 2013, Al-Shuaibi was the first Saudi woman to receive the Diplomat of the Year award from the British Diplomatic Magazine. The accolade was in recognition of her efforts into the overhaul and rise of the Arabic organization as an active leader in Arab and British diplomatic fields.

Saudi businesswoman Nashwa Al-Taher, who was appointed as an honorary consul to the Netherlands, is another prominent Saudi figure in the global and local economic and diplomatic arenas.

In the global sports organization arena, media figure Samira Aziz was elected as the director of the United Nations International Sports Federation.

Royal ties

On the heels of King Salman bin Abdulaziz diplomatic visit to Japan in March of 2017 – under his Asian tour that included Malaysia, Indonesia, Brunei, China, the Maldives and Jordan –  economic and trade collaboration between the KSA and Japan grew by leaps and bounds.

The visit entailed and resulted in the signing of a number of strategic agreements and bilateral partnerships, most notable of which was a MoU (memorandum of understanding) between the Saudi and Japanese government for a joint 2030 vision. The latter stipulates unprecedented levels of economic collaboration, extending outside of hydrocarbon trade and automotive imports, and toward a fully-fledged strategic partnership.

Trade relations between Tokyo and Riyadh date back to decades ago, when the first Japanese economic delegation arrived to the Kingdom in 1953, before the establishment of official diplomatic ties between both countries in 1955.

Women in this article

Saudi leader in diplomacy, and the first Saudi woman to serve as the Trade Attaché in the Saudi Ministry of Commerce and Investment

Add new comment